Solo, Ellerston Named To WPS All-Star Game

June 9, 2010

SAN FRANCISCO - Former Huskies Hope Solo and Tina (Frimpong) Ellerston were both named to the 2010 Women's Professional Soccer All-Star squad, announced by the WPS today.

Solo, a goalkeeper from Richland, Wash., and Ellerston, a defender from Vancouver, Wash., both currently play for the Atlanta Beat in the WPS. Both players moved from St. Louis to Atlanta recently. Both have played one game for the Beat, helping their team to a 0-0 draw with Chicago.

Solo was a four-time All-Pac-10 selection for the Huskies (1999-2002) while Ellerston, who played at the UW under her maiden name, Tina Frimpong, was the Pac-10 Player of the year as a junior and senior (2003 and 2004).

The 2010 WPS All-Star Game, presented by U.S. Coast Guard Reserve, kicks-off at 8:00 p.m. on June 30 at KSU Soccer Stadium in Kennesaw, Georgia. The starting 22 players were selected on ballots from players (25%), coaches (25%), media (25%) and online fan voting (25%).

The top two overall vote-getters in the league were forwards Abby Wambach (Washington Freedom) and Marta (FC Gold Pride), earning them team captain designations.

With a unique All-Star Game format chosen for 2010, each captain will select her starting team together with the All-Star Game head coaches. Wambach will choose 'Abby's XI' with Philadelphia Independence Head Coach Paul Riley, while Marta will chose 'Marta's XI' with FC Gold Pride Head Coach Albertin Montoya at a unique playground pick-em event for fans on Monday, June 28 prior to the 2010 WPS All-Star Game.

Coaches were selected from the top two teams in the standings as of June 7, while reserve All-Stars will be selected later this month as Commissioner's Picks.

The 2010 WPS All-Star Game will feature Abby's XI vs. Marta's XI with kick-off scheduled for 8pm ET. The game will be televised live nationally on Fox Soccer Channel and regionally on select Fox Sports Net affiliates (check local listings) with coverage starting at 7:30pm ET with a half-hour pre-game show. For information or to reserve tickets for the 2010 WPS All-Star Game go to purchase tickets at or call 678.298.4780. Group and individual tickets are now on sale.

2010 WPS All-Stars (alphabetical by position)

Team Captains
Home Team: Abby Wambach, Washington Freedom
Away Team: Marta, FC Gold Pride

Goalkeepers (2)
Karen Bardsley, Sky Blue FC
Hope Solo, Atlanta Beat

Defenders (6)
Rachel Buehler, FC Gold Pride
Tina Ellertson, Atlanta Beat
Allison Falk, Philadelphia Independence
Amy LePeilbet, Boston Breakers
Brittany Taylor, Sky Blue FC
Cat Whitehill, Washington Freedom

Midfielders (8)
Sonia Bompastor, Washington Freedom
Shannon Boxx, FC Gold Pride
Lori Chalupny, Atlanta Beat
Kristine Lilly, Boston Breakers
Lori Lindsey, Philadelphia Independence
Aya Miyama, N/A
Heather O'Reilly, Sky Blue FC
Kelly Smith, Boston Breakers

Forwards (6)
Eniola Aluko, Atlanta Beat
Ramona Bachmann, Atlanta Beat
Lauren Cheney, Boston Breakers
Marta, FC Gold Pride
Christine Sinclair, FC Gold Pride
Abby Wambach, Washington Freedom

Now on Pac-12 Network
12:00 PM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network