Pac-10 Named 2009-10 Tom Hansen Conference Medal Winners

Pac-12 Content Image

June 10, 2010

WALNUT CREEK, Calif. - Huskies Danielle Lawrie and Nick Taylor were named Pac-10 Tom Hansen Conference Medal winners, as announced by Pac-10 Commissioner Larry Scott.

Conference Medals are awarded annually to each member institution's outstanding senior male and female student-athlete based on the exhibition of the greatest combination of performance and achievement in scholarship, athletics and leadership. The Pac-10 renamed the award in 2009 in honor of former conference Tom Hansen who retired in June of 2009 after 26 years of service.

Taylor recently helped the Husky men's golf team to a fifth-place finish at the NCAA Men's Golf Championships. He was the 2010 Ben Hogan Award winner, collegiate golf's annual top honor for the nation's most outstanding player. A native of Abbotsford, B.C., Taylor was named Pac-10 Co-Golfer of the Year for the second straight season. He is the only Husky to ever win the conference's nod as the top player and is just the fifth golfer in the league's history to win multiple times.

Taylor led Washington with a 71.0 stroke average - the second lowest average in a season in team history and earned First Team PING All-American honors for a second-consecutive year. Currently, Taylor occupies the top spot in the Players World Amateur Ranking (SPWAR). He also spent 21 weeks at the top of the World Amateur Golf Rankings (June 15-Nov. 4, 2009) and was the winner of the 2009 Mark H McCormack Medal. Taylor will graduate this week with a degree in finance.

Lawrie recently capped her storied career by being named the 2010 Honda Sports Award in softball, designating her as the nation's top collegiate female athlete in that sport. The honor, which Lawrie also received in 2009, was based on the results of national balloting among 1,000 NCAA member schools.

A native of Langley, British Columbia, Lawrie led the Huskies this year to the quarterfinals of the NCAA Women's College World Series, concluding her college career with a 40-5 2 record for the 2010 season. The Huskies ended the 2009-2010 season with a 50-9 record, with the team's 50 wins ranking as the second-best ever for a single season. Lawrie finished the season with a 1.11 ERA, 495 strikeouts, and 46 walks in 302.1 innings. She pitched four no-hitters, including three perfect games and 27 starts with double-digit strikeouts this year. She is just one of four pitchers to ever surpass 1,800 career strikeouts.

Adept at the plate as well as at the pitcher's mound, she also led her team with 15 home runs, 57 RBI and a slugging percentage of .609. She was named 2010 ASA/USA Softball Player of the Year (only the second athlete ever to win the award more than once), First Team All-Pacific Region, All-Pac-10 and repeat winner of Pac-10 Pitcher of the Year. In 2008 Lawrie competed in the Olympic Games in Beijing with the Canadian National Team, where they came in fourth.

2009-10 Pacific-10 Tom Hansen Conference Medal Winners

Arizona State
Oregon State
Washington State


Jean Basson, Swimming
Ryan Whiting, Track & Field
Jerome Randle, Basketball
Ashton Eaton, Track & Field
Diego Velasquez, Golf
Toby Gerhart, Football
Mustafa Abdul-Hamid, Basketball
Jeff Byers, Football
Nick Taylor, Golf
Matt Lamb, Track and Field


Justine Schluntz, Swimming
Liz Harkin, Soccer
Hana Cutura, Volleyball
Keshia Baker, Track & Field
Mandi Rodriguez, Gymnastics
Carly Jainga, Gymnastics
Kaitlin Sather, Volleyball
Kally Lucas, Water Polo
Danielle Lawrie, Softball
Kiersten Dallstream, Soccer
Now on Pac-12 Network
10:30 AM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network