Five Pac-10 Baseball Freshmen Named to Pro-Line Athletic NCBWA Division I Freshman All-American Team

June 14, 2010


WALNUT CREEK, Calif. -- The 2010 Pro-Line Athletic National Collegiate Baseball Writers Association (NCBWA) Division I Freshman All-American Team was announced today and five Pac-10 rookies were named to the team, including ARIZONA STATE’s RHP Brady Rodgers, CALIFORNIA LHP Justin Jones and OREGON STATE UTL Matt Boyd to the first team, while ARIZONA RHP Kurt Heyer and Arizona State SS Deven Marrero earned second team honors. 

A native of Richmond, Texas, Rodgers posted a 4-3 record with a 1.96 ERA in 20 games for the Sun Devils. As a starter and reliever, Rodgers’ ERA was tops in the Pac-10 and also had three saves. Rodgers was an honorable mention All-Pac-10 honoree this season.

Jones, an All-Pac-10 pick, led the Golden Bears with a 10-5 record. The Oakdale, Calif., native fanned 73 batters and walked 27 in 98.0 innings of work. His innings pitched ranked eighth in the Conference.

An Honorable Mention selection by the Pac-10, Boyd was dominant in 42.2 innings pitched, making 20 appearances, two of them being starts. He led the Beavers with a 7-1 record and posted a 1.90 ERA while opponents batted .200 against him. Offensively, the Mercer Island, Wash., native batted .264 with six doubles, three home runs and 19 RBI.

An All-Pac-10 selection, Heyer of Huntington Beach, Calif., was 7-4 with a 3.24 ERA for the Wildcats. He ranked third in the Conference with 109 strikeouts and fifth in innings pitched (102.0). His ERA was the ninth-highest in the league.

Marrero of Davie, Fla., batted .397 in his first season in Tempe with six home runs and 37 RBI. Marrero was an honorable mention All-Pac-10 selection this season. 

The 2010 NCBWA National Freshman Player of the Year and National Freshman Pitcher of the Year will be announced tomorrow Tuesday, June 15.


Now on Pac-12 Network
9:30 AM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network