This Week in Pac-10 Baseball

June 15, 2010

  • Complete Release in PDF Format Get Acrobat Reader


    Rosenblatt Stadium (Omaha, Neb.)
    Double Elimination

    Sat., June 19
    Game 1 - Florida State vs. TCU, 1 p.m. (ESPN HD)
    Game 2 - No. 6 UCLA vs. No. 3 Florida, 6 p.m. (ESPN HD) 

    Sun., June 20
    Game 3 - South Carolina vs. Oklahoma, 1 p.m. (ESPN HD)
    Game 4 - Clemson vs. No. 1 ARIZONA STATE, 6 p.m. (ESPN2 HD)

    Mon., June 21
    Game 5 - Loser Game 1 vs. Loser Game 2, 3:30 p.m. (ESPN2 HD)
    Game 6 - Winner Game 1 vs. Winner Game 2, 8 p.m. (ESPN HD)

    Tues., June 22
    Game 7 - Loser Game 3 vs. Loser Game 4, 3:30 p.m. (ESPN2 HD)
    Game 8 - Winner Game 3 vs. Winner Game 4, 8 p.m. (ESPN HD)

    Wed., June 23
    Game 9 - Winner Game 5 vs. Loser Game 6, 6 p.m. (ESPN2 HD)

    Thurs., June 24
    Game 10 - Winner Game 7 vs. Loser Game 8, 6 p.m. (ESPN2 HD)

    Fri., June 25
    Game 11 - Winner Game 9 vs. Winner Game 6, 3:30 p.m. (ESPN2 HD)
    Game 12 - Winner Game 10 vs. Winner Game 6, 8 p.m. (ESPN2 HD)

    Sat., June 26
    Game 13 - Necessary if winner of Game 9 also wins Game 11, 1 p.m. (ESPN)*
    Game 14 - Necessary if winner of Game 10 also wins Game 12, 6 p.m. (ESPN)
    *If only game played on Saturday, game will be played at 6 p.m.

    CHAMPIONSHIP FINALS (Best of three)

    Mon., June 28
    Game 1 - Bracket One Winner vs. Bracket Two Winner, 6:30 p.m. (ESPN HD)

    Tues., June 29
    Game 2 - Bracket One Winner vs. Bracket Two Winner, 6:30 p.m. (ESPN HD)

    Wed., June 30 (if necessary)
    Game 3 - Bracket One Winner vs. Bracket Two Winner, 6:30 p.m. (ESPN HD)

    Game local to site and subject to change.


    ARIZONA STATE (52-8, 20-7): First-year skipper, Tim Esmay led his squad to the Pac-10 Championship, as well as earning a trip to the NCAA College World Series, also earning Pac-10 Coach of the Year honors along the way... SO 2B Zach MacPhee, a 2010 Golden Spikes Award semifinalist, was named Pac-10 Player of the Year after leading the league in three offensive categories, including on-base percentage (.491), runs scored (66) and triples (14). He ranked second in slugging percentage (.679), third in batting average (.394), RBI (64) and total bases (150), and seventh in hits (87)... With Brett Wallace earning the honor in 2007 and 2008, and Jason Kipnis winning last season, it marked the first time in Pac-10 history that an institution has produced four-straight Conference Player of the Year winners... ASU’s 24-game winning streak to start the season was a program record and was the second-longest streak in school history... Esmay set a new ASU standard for wins to start a career with 24, besting Jim Brock who held the previous record at 12-0.

    UCLA (48-14, 18-9): The Bruins are making their first trip to the NCAA College World Series since the 1997 season... Paced by SO RHP Trevor Bauer, a 2010 Golden Spikes Award semifinalist, the Bruins pitching staff is tops in the Conference in ERA (2.97), strikeouts (639), a school and Pac-10 record, and opponent batting average (.218)... Bauer leads the Conference with 141 strikeouts and 116.1 innings pitched... Bauer, SO RHP Gerrit Cole and JR LHP Rob Rasmussen each boast 10 or more victories, the first time three Bruins have accomplished that feat in a single season... With a two-hit complete game win against the Titans on Sunday, Rasmussen became the first Bruin pitcher to win 11 or more games in a season since LHP Jim Parque went 13-2 in 1997... With 48 wins, the Bruins broke the program record for victories in a season, a record which had been established in 1997 -- the last time UCLA advanced to the NCAA College World Series... The  club’s 29 home victories this season are the most since 1982 when that Bruins squad went 28-10... UCLA opened the 2010 campaign with a school-record 22-0 start.


    NCAA Notes: ARIZONA, ARIZONA STATE, CALIFORNIA, OREGON, OREGON STATE, STANFORD, UCLA and WASHINGTON STATE all earned NCAA postseason bids... The eight Pac-10 teams are the most in the Conference’s history and the 80 percent marks the best percentage (eight of 10 teams) in NCAA Division I baseball history.

    ARIZONA: The Wildcats have appeared in the NCAA Tournament in six of the last eight seasons... During the regular season, Arizona strung together a 15-game winning streak, the seventh-longest in the nation in 2010... With a 12-4 win on Sunday, May 16, over No. 3 Arizona State, head coach Andy Lopez became the sixth manager this season and 46th all-time coach to win 1,000 games in their careers. 

    CALIFORNIA: The Golden Bears made their 11th appearance in the NCAA Tournament and third time under skipper Dave Esquer... California swept Arizona (4/1-4/3), marking their first sweep of a Pac-10 foe since 2007 when they swept USC... A week later, the Bears swept USC in LA was the first sweep in LA since the Pac-10 went to a three-game format in 1972. 

    OREGON: The Ducks are in the field for the first time since 1964 and only two years after reinstating the baseball program... On Sunday, May 16, SR C Eddie Rodriguez became the first Oregon player since reinstatement to hit for the cycle in 17-7 win over East Tennessee State... SR RHP Justin LaTempa struck out a career-high 10 batter as the Ducks defeated Washington State (5/2), becoming the first Oregon pitcher to shutout an opponent since a 3-0 win at Washington on May 8, 1976. 

    OREGON STATE: Dating back to 1952, the Beavers have made 11 regional berths... From 2005-2007, Oregon State advanced to the NCAA College World Series where they won consecutive titles in 2006 and 2007, becoming just the fifth program in NCAA history to win back-to-back championships...  Head coach Pat Casey won his 700th career game as coach when his club defeated Oregon 6-5 on Sunday, May 9.

    STANFORD: The Cardinal made its 29th all-time NCAA Regional appearance and first since 2008. Pac-10 Freshman of the Year, 3B Kenny Diekroeger led the club with a .351 batting average, 73 hits and 22 multi-hit games, becoming the first Cardinal freshman since Edmund Muth (.388) in 1997 to lead the team in hitting as a freshman... He produced a 23-game winning streak, the fourth-longest hit streak in school history since 1988. 

    WASHINGTON STATE: For the second-consecutive season, the Cougars received an at-large bid to the NCAA Tournament... Washington State takes part in the postseason in back-to-back years for the first time since the 1987-88 campaigns... For the first time in program history, the Cougars swept USC in a three-game series... WSU also took a series from top-ranked Arizona State, also the first time in program history. 


  • Categories:
    Now on Pac-12 Network
    9:00 PM PT

    Airing on:

    • Pac-12 Network
    • Inside Pac-12 Basketball: NBA Draft Special
      TOMORROW | 9:00pm PT

      Airing on:

      • Pac-12 Oregon
      • Pac-12 Network
      • Pac-12 Arizona
      • Pac-12 Bay Area
      • Pac-12 Los Angeles
      • Pac-12 Washington
      • Pac-12 Mountain
    Get Pac-12 Networks
    Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder