Velasquez Named to All-Nicklaus Team

June 17, 2010

NORMAN, Okla. - Oregon State senior Diego Velasquez was recognized for his outstanding play during the past season being named to the 2010 All-Nicklaus Team as announced by the Golf Coaches Association of America on Thursday.

Velasquez, from Bogota, Colombia, is one of 24 honorees for the 2010 All-Nicklaus Team that includes players from Division I, II, III, NAIA and NJCAA.

The All-Nicklaus Team was created in 2008, and is not only named for history's greatest player but also a long-time supporter of collegiate and amateur golf. Jack Nicklaus, a Big Ten and NCAA Champion at The Ohio State University, helped inspire and create the Jack Nicklaus Award in 1988. The Nicklaus Award is annually given to the top collegiate men's golfer in Division I, II, III and the NAIA.

Velasquez, who has already earned PING and Golfweek first team All-America honors recently, continues to add to his list of accolades following his record-setting season. The native of Bogota, Colombia, is Oregon State's fourth All-American in men's golf in school history.

Velasquez earned eight top 10 finishes in 2009-10 to tie the school record and posted a 70.31 season scoring average to shatter the previous mark by more than a stroke.

He finished his career at OSU with a fourth place individual finish at the NCAA Championships after helping to lead his team to the national tournament for the first time since 2001. His competition course record tying 6-under 66 final round pushed the Beavers to a tie for 16th, the best team finish in OSU history.

The All-Nicklaus team is comprised of Abraham Ancer of Odessa College, Lucas Bogden of Northwood (Texas), John Chin (UC Irvine), Harris English (Georgia), Nils Floren (Texas Tech), Dustin Garza (Wichita State), Russell Henley (Georgia), Scott Langley (Illinois), Peter Latimer (Guilford), Tain Lee (Claremont McKenna), Justin Lower (Malone), Brett Munson (North Alabama), Jonathan Randolph (Mississippi), Andrea Pavin (Texas A&M), Marcelo Rozo (John A. Logan), Juan Salcedo (McLennan), Josh Schrader (Methodist), Matt Stauch (Florida Southern), Nick Taylor (Washington), Peter Uihlein (Oklahoma State), Julian Valenciana (Oklahoma City), Diego Velasquez (Oregon State), Eugene Wong (Oregon) and Justin Yoder (Central Missouri).

Support Oregon State University Athletics by making your tax deductible donation to the Beaver Athletic Student Fund. For more information follow this link or call 541-737-2370.You can make an 'everyday champion.' Follow Beaver Athletics on twitter.

Now on Pac-12 Network
8:00 PM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network