2010 USTA Summer Collegiate Team Has Stanford Presence

Pac-12 Content Image

June 21, 2010



STANFORD, Calif.- Both Stanford tennis programs will be well-represented among the 2010 USTA Summer Collegiate Team, with Bradley Klahn joining Hilary Barte, Lindsay Burdette and Mallory Burdette among the headliners.

The USTA announced that 25 of the nation's top men's and women's collegiate tennis players have been named to the 2010 USTA Summer Collegiate Team, administered by the USTA and the Intercollegiate Tennis Association (ITA).

The USTA Summer Collegiate Team is an elite training program for the top American collegiate tennis players. The program began in 1996 and is funded by the USTA. It is designed to provide college players with valuable exposure to the USTA Pro Circuit in a team-oriented environment during the summer months.

In addition to competing on the USTA Pro Circuit, USTA Player Development will host two Pro Tour Transition camps - one for men, one for women - for the selected players. The men's camp will be held June 21-24 on clay courts in Boca Raton, Fla., and coached by USTA National Coach David Dilucia, while the women's camp will be conducted June 27-July 1 on hard courts in Boca Raton and coached by USTA National Coach Sarah Taylor.

The top six American players from the season-ending ITA national singles rankings are eligible for automatic selections. The remaining players on each team were selected by USTA Player Development staff in conjunction with USTA National Coaches, and current collegiate coaches. Eighteen of the players selected received 2010 ITA All-American honors.

The women's team includes five of the top seven American players from the final national singles rankings: Falconi, who finished No. 1 overall after winning the Riviera/ITA All-American singles title, Barte, Sanchez, Embree and Whoriskey. Embree was named ITA National Rookie of the Year while Whoriskey was named ITA Senior Player of the Year. Barte will make her third consecutive appearance on the team, while Falconi, Sanchez, Whoriskey and Lindsay Burdette will all join the team for the second straight year.

Klahn captured the NCAA Division I Championships while Buchanan, the 2009 USTA Boys' 18s National Champion, Johnson and Quigley all finished their final seasons ranked among the Top 10 in the national rankings. Krajicek - the 2008 USTA Boys' 18s National Champion - was named ITA National Player to Watch, while Johnson won the ITA Division I National Indoor Championship. Johnson, Klahn and Krajicek were named to the team for the second consecutive year.

Now on Pac-12 Network
4:00 PM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network