ASU's Ryan Whiting Named Pac-10 Men's Co-Field Athlete of the Year

June 21, 2010

TEMPERyan Whiting, one of the most successful student-athletes in Arizona State University track & field, added another award to his mantle last week as the Pac-10 Conference announced the six-time NCAA champion as the 2010 Pac-10 Men’s Co-Field Athlete of the Year. Just like he did with the 2010 USTFCCCA Co-National Male Field Athlete of the Year for Outdoor Track & Field, Whiting shares the conference honor with Oregon’s Ashton Eaton.

In his final outdoor season for the Sun Devils, Whiting made the most of his national appearances as he swept the shot put and the discus and became the first man to do so since 2002 and just the 11th different man to accomplish the sweep at the NCAA Championships since 1921. Whiting opened his time in Eugene, Ore., but capturing the discus with his toss of 59.06m (193-9) in the fifth of six rounds of throws. On the final day of competition, Whiting easily won his second-consecutive outdoor shot put crown and his fourth-consecutive NCAA shot put title overall (two indoors as well) with a toss of 21.97m (72-01.00), which ranks as the second-best mark in NCAA history and just 3cm off the collegiate record of 22.00m.

Whiting was equally successful at the Pac-10 Championships where he also swept both throws, winning the shot put with a mark of 21.34m (70-00.25) and the discus with a toss of 58.85m (193-1). His victory in the shot put led a 1-2-3 sweep of the event for the Sun Devils, scoring the team 24 points, while his discus win, at the time, was his only win in the event all season. Combined with the national meet, Whiting won the discus just twice and both were at the championship finals.

The honor for Whiting is his first and the first for a Sun Devil male in the field category. Overall, he is the fourth men’s honoree in the Pac-10, which also includes Pac-10 Athlete of the Year recipients Marcus Brunson (2001) and LaMonte King (1981) and Pac-10 Men’s Coach of the Year Len Miller (1981). Whiting’s award also keeps a program streak alive at five years in a row with at least one Sun Devil being honored by the Conference. Current Head Coach Greg Kraft was honored as the Pac-10 Women’s Coach of the Year in 2006, 2007 and 2008 while Charonda Williams (track) and Sarah Stevens (field) both were honored last year.

ASU’s All-Time Pac-10 Conference Awards
Coach of the Year (5)

2008 - Greg Kraft (women)
2007 - Greg Kraft (women)
2006 - Greg Kraft (women)
1994 - Leonard Braxton (women)
1981 - Len Miller (men)

Athlete of the Year (7)
2010 - Ryan Whiting (men’s field)
- Sarah Stevens (women’s field) & Charonda Williams (women’s track)
2008 - Jacquelyn Johnson (women’s field)
2007 - Sarah Stevens (women’s field)
2001 - Marcus Brunson (men)
1981 - LaMonte King (men)

Newcomer of the Year (2)
- Charonda Williams (women)
2004 - Jacquelyn Johnson (women)

Now on Pac-12 Network
9:00 PM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network