Wade on Nagurski Trophy List

June 21, 2010

DALLAS--University of Arizona junior cornerback Trevin Wade was named to the watch list for the Bronko Nagurski Trophy today.

The Nagurski Trophy is presented to the nation's top defensive player. Its inaugural winner was Arizona defensive tackle Rob Waldrop in 1993. The award was won last year by tackle Ndamukong Suh of Nebraska. It is presented by the Charlotte Touchdown Club and the winner selected by a vote of the Football Writers Association of America

Wade, whose nine career interceptions give him a chance to reach the UA all-time top 10 in his junior year in 2010, joins eight Pac-10 players among the five dozen national stars on the list. He was one of two defensive backs from the Pac-10 on the watch list, although candidates may be added during the season.

Wade, of Round Rock, Texas, is expected to help three other returning starters bring along a newer overall group of defenders for Arizona this year in anchoring one of the cornerback spots. He, defensive ends Brooks Reed and Ricky Elmore and safety Robert Golden should lead the Wildcat defense, which coaches anticipate to continue a strong tradition at Arizona.

Other Pac-10 players on the list include linebackers Thomas Keiser of Stanford, Akeem Ayers of UCLA, Vontaze Burfict of ASU, Chris Galippo of USC and Mike Mohamed of California; plus defensive end Kenny Roe of Oregon, DT Stephen Paea of OSU and safety Rahim Moore of UCLA.


Now on Pac-12 Network
9:45 PM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder