Former Cal Player Nnamdi Asomugha to Receive Jefferson Award

June 22, 2010

WASHINGTON, D.C. - Former Cal football player Nnamdi Asomugha will be presented with a 2010 Jefferson Award on Tuesday evening during a ceremony at the National Building Museum in Washington D.C.

Celebrating the decidedly American characteristic for giving back, the 38th annual Jefferson Awards will be bestowed on 15 recipients nationwide whose lives, careers and volunteer activities embody the finest examples of public service.

Known as the 'Nobel Prize for Public Service,' the awards are presented each year during a special gala ceremony in Washington, D.C. where a broad array of honorees are recognized - from high-profile individuals who have dedicated the better part of their lives to public service to celebrated professional athletes to largely unheralded community-based volunteers. Also recognized are organizations - companies that represent the pinnacle in corporate citizenship and schools that best reflect the Jeffersonian ideals of citizen involvement.

Co-founded in 1973 by Jacqueline Kennedy Onassis, U.S. Senator Robert Taft Jr. and Sam Beard, The Jefferson Awards annually celebrate America's commitment to public service. Recognizing both the famous and the unknown, individuals and organizations, the awards reflect one of the founding ideals of our nation, that of contributing toward the larger good. Past recipients of the award include Lance Armstrong, Hubert Humphrey, Dr. C. Everett Koop, General Colin Powell and Justice Sandra Day O'Connor.