Dennis Erickson Named To Snohomish County Sports Hall of Fame

June 28, 2010


TEMPE, Ariz.--Arizona State University head football coach Dennis Erickson has been named as a member of the inaugural class of inductees for the Snohomish County (Washington) Sports Hall of Fame.

Erickson, in his fourth season at ASU, was born in Everett, Washington and graduated from Everett High School in Snohomish County.

Eleven individuals and two teams comprise the class, which will be formally inducted in September, 2010 and then enshrined in a permanent display at the Comcast Arena.

'We could not have asked for a better representation of athletes, coaches and teams for the inaugural group,' said Frank Foster, chair of the 20-member Hall of Fame selection committee. 'Each is unique to themselves, but all of them brought national and in some cases international acclaim to Snohomish County as well as to themselves.'

Other members of the class includes major league baseball Hall of Famer Earl Averill, University of Washington and NFL player Chris Chandler, major league baseball player Larry Christenson, Everett High School football and basketball coach Jim Ennis, college basketball coach Marv Harshman, college basketball player Jo Levin, golfer Anne Quast, figure skater Rosalynn Sumners, adventurer and explorer Helen Thayer, and UW and NFL player George Wilson.

Also being inducted are Everett High School's 1920 national championship football team and the Monroe High School state basketball championship teams from 1952 and 1953.

The inductees were chosen after a process that included nominations from committee members and the public. According to Foster, a list of 28 finalists was compiled, and a vote of the committee determined this year's inductees.

The inductees will be honored at a September 23 banquet, which will feature former UW and NFL player Curt Marsh as the keynote speaker. Everett radio personality Tom Lafferty will be the master of ceremonies.

THE Dennis Erickson FILE


Born: March 24, 1947, in Everett, Wash.

Family: Wife, Marilyn, and sons Bryce and Ryan


High School: Graduate of Everett High School in 1965

College: Bachelor's Degree in physical education from Montana State in 1970


Three-year letterman (1966-68) at Montana State

Two-time All-Big Sky selection at quarterback

NOTES ON Dennis Erickson

* Won his first 32 home games at Miami from Sept. 3, 1989 until falling to Washington on Sept. 24, 1994. Those 32 wins remain part of the longest home winning streak in college football history, as Miami won 58 straight from 1985 to 1994. Coach Erickson and his staff defeated seven ranked teams during the streak, including victories over No. 1 Notre Dame (Nov. 25, 1989), No. 2 Florida State (Oct. 6, 1990) and No. 3 Florida State (Oct. 3, 1992).

* Coach Erickson's team have finished in the Associated Press Top 25 at the end of the year seven times (including ASU in 2007), with Miami earning the No. 1 ranking in 1989 and 1991 and also finishing third in 1990 and 1992. The Hurricanes were No. 15 in 1993 while Oregon State climbed all the way to fourth in 2001.

* Has been the head coach twice in a No. 1 vs. No. 2 match up. His second ranked Hurricane squad won at top-ranked Florida State, 17-16, on Nov. 16, 1991, while second-ranked Alabama topped his top-ranked Hurricanes on Jan. 1, 1993, in the Sugar Bowl.

* He is the only coach to win Pac-10 Coach of the Year at three schools, as he shared the honor at Washington State with Larry Smith of USC in 1988, won it outright in 2000 while at Oregon State and in 2007 in his first year at Arizona State. ASU's Bruce Snyder, the 1996 winner, also won the honor in 1990 while he was at California and is the only coach to win it at two schools. Coach Erickson also has been named Coach of the Year in the Big Sky and the Big East.

* He has posted more victories over the No. 1 ranked team (three) than eight Pac-10 schools. Arizona and Oregon State have done it twice, while ASU, Stanford, Washington and Washington State all have done it once. Cal and Oregon have never done it, while USC has done it seven times and UCLA three.

* Of his 20 teams, 15 have competed in postseason play and he has five bowl victories.


Head Coach, Arizona State - 2007-present

Head Coach, University of Idaho - 2006

Head Coach, San Francisco 49ers (NFL) - 2003-05

Head Coach, Oregon State University - 1999-02

Head Coach, Seattle Seahawks (NFL) - 1995-98

Head Coach, University of Miami (Fla.) - 1989-94

Head Coach, Washington State University - 1987-88

Head Coach, University of Wyoming - 1986

Head Coach, University of Idaho - 1982-85

Assistant Coach, San Jose State University - 1979-81

Assistant Coach, Fresno State University (offensive coordinator) - 1976-78

Assistant Coach, University of Idaho (offensive coordinator) - 1974-75

Assistant Coach, Montana State University (offensive backfield coach) - 1971-73

Head Coach, Billings (Mont.) High School - 1970

Graduate Assistant Coach, Montana State University - 1969


2000 The Sporting News National Coach of the Year

1988, 2000 and 2007 Pac-10 Conference Coach of the Year

Two-time National Champion at Miami (1989 and 1991)

Three wins over the nation's top-ranked team

2005 inductee into the University of Miami Athletic Hall of Fame

For a full biography on Erickson, visit:

Now on Pac-12 Network
2:15 AM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder