UCLA Looks For First NCAA Men's College World Series Title

Pac-12 Content Image

June 28, 2010

Complete Release in PDF Format
UCLA Preview

The Bruins are looking for their first ever NCAA Men’s College World Series title... UCLA advanced to Omaha, Neb., for the third time in school history... They defeated Kent State, 15-1, LSU, 6-3, and UC Irvine, 6-2, in the NCAA Regional, then beat Cal State Fullerton in the best-of-three series in the NCAA Super Regionals... Playing in the CWS for the first time since 1997, the Bruins upset No. 3 Florida, 11-3, in the opening round to win the program’s first ever game in the CWS.

Pac-10 in the MCWS
The Pac-10 has won 26 NCAA titles, the most of any Conference, distancing the Big 12 by 16 championships... OREGON STATE was the last Pac-10 team to bring home the hardware, accomplishing this in 2007 as well as in 2006... With the Bruins and ARIZONA STATE making the NCAA Men’s College World Series, the Conference has produced a CWS participant each year since 1997... Combined, the Pac-10 has a record of 233-141 (.623) in the CWS with 26 first-place finishes, 11 runner-up finishes and 14 third-place finishes. 

Breakdown of Pac-10 Titles
USC 12 (last in 1998)
Arizona State 5 (last in 1981)
Arizona 3 (last in 1986)
California 2 (last in 1957)
Oregon State 2 (last in 2007)
Stanford 2 (last in 1988)

USC has the most titles in NCAA history, followed in by Arizona State which is second with five... The Trojans rank second all-time with wins at the NCAA Men’s College World Series with 74, followed by the Sun Devils who have won 61 games in Omaha, Neb... With 171 wins in the NCAA Tournament, including CWS, USC trails only Texas (204) for the most wins in NCAA history.

Pac-10 in NCAA Tournament
ARIZONA, ARIZONA STATE, CALIFORNIA, OREGON, OREGON STATE, STANFORD, UCLA and WASHINGTON STATE all earned NCAA postseason bids... The eight Pac-10 teams are the most in the Conference’s history and the 80 percent marks the best percentage (eight of 10 teams) in NCAA Division I baseball history. 



Now on Pac-12 Network
9:45 PM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network