Stanford, Washington and Oregon Pick Up Pac-10 Cross Country Honors

Dec. 2, 2009

WALNUT CREEK, Calif. -- STANFORD's Chris Derrick and WASHINGTON's Kendra Schaaf were named the Pacific-10 Conference Cross Country Athletes of the Year, Commissioner Larry Scott announced today.

Derrick, a sophomore from Naperville, Ill., captured his first Pac-10 title when he crossed the finish line in a championships meet record time of 22:35 and became the sixth Stanford runner to win the individual title. He helped the Cardinal win its 11th Pac-10 team title, and 10th in 14 years. Stanford took top team honors at the NCAA West Regional behind Derrick's first-place performance (30:38). Derrick then capped the collegiate season with a third-place finish (29:14) at the NCAA Championships to earn All-America honors.

Schaaf, a sophomore from Craven, Saskatchewan, earned Pac-10 Women's Cross Country Athlete of the Year honors for the second consecutive season. She finished second (19:46) at the Pac-10 Championships in leading the Huskies to their second straight Pac-10 title, and third overall. Schaaf took individual honors (20:41) in leading the Huskies to the NCAA West Region title, then went on to finish runner-up (19:51) at the NCAA Championships in helping guide the Huskies to third place in the final team standings. In addition to a successful collegiate season, Schaaf recently won the Canadian Cross Country Championships and qualified for the 2010 World Cross Country Championships. She's been named one of four finalists for the Honda Award, which is given annually to the top female student-athlete in the sport.

Stanford redshirt freshman Miles Unterreiner, from Gig Harbor, Wash., was named the Pac-10 Men's Cross Country Newcomer of the Year. He was the top-placing freshman at the Pac-10 Championships with an 11th-place showing (23:27) to help the Cardinal score 28 points in capturing the team title. At the NCAA West Regional, Unterreiner placed 13th (31:02) to help the Cardinal bring home the team trophy. Unterreiner is the third Stanford runner to earn the award.

OREGON freshman Jordan Hasay, from Arroyo Grande, Calif., was named the Pac-10 Women's Cross Country Newcomer of the Year.  Hasay finished third (19:48) at the Pac-10 Championships to help the Ducks finish second in the team race. She then posted a runner-up finish (20:52) at the NCAA West Regional to lead the Ducks to another second-place finish. Hasay was the top Oregon finisher at the NCAA Championships, finishing 18th (20:23) to earn her first All-America award. She is the second Oregon runner to earn Pac-10 Women's Newcomer of the Year honors.

Also announced were the Conference Coach of the Year honors. Stanford's Jason Dunn was honored as the Pac-10 Men's Cross Country Coach of the Year for first time in his career. Washington's Greg Metcalf picked up his second consecutive Pac-10 Women's Cross Country Coach of the Year honor.

Dunn guided Stanford to the school's 11th Pac-10 title and is the fifth different Cardinal coach to earn the honor, joining Brooks Johnson (1985), Vin Lananna (1996-97, 2000-02), Andrew Gerard (2003-04) and Peter Tegen (2005). Metcalf led the Huskies in successful defense of their Pac-10 title, and guided them to a third-place finish at the NCAA Championships.

The honors were decided by a vote of the Conference's cross country coaches.



First Team
Chris Derrick, So., Stanford
Brandon Bethke, Sr., Arizona State
Elliott Heath, Jr., Stanford
Luke Puskedra, So., Oregon
Matthew Centrowitz, So., Oregon
Jake Riley, So., Stanford
Justin Marpole-Bird, Jr., Stanford

Second Team
Jordan McNamara, Sr., Oregon
Marco Anzures, Sr., UCLA
Kelly Spady, Sr., Washington
Miles Unterreiner, RFr., Stanford
Brendan Gregg, Jr., Stanford
Danny Mercado, Jr., Oregon
Ben Engelhardt, Jr., Arizona State

Athlete of the Year
Chris Derrick, So., Stanford

Newcomer of the Year
Miles Unterreiner, RFr., Stanford

Coach of the Year
Jason Dunn, Stanford



First Team
Nicole Blood, Sr., Oregon
Kendra Schaaf, So., Washington
Jordan Hasay, Fr., Oregon
Marie Lawrence, Jr., Washington
Christine Babcock, So., Washington
Deborah Maier, So., California
Kari Hardt, Sr., Arizona State

Second Team
Katie Follett, Sr., Washington
Alex Kosinski, Jr., Oregon
Alexandra Gits, Jr., Stanford
Stephanie Marcy, So., Stanford
Claire Michel, So., Oregon
Shannon Murakami, Jr., UCLA
Maggie Callahan, Jr., Arizona

Athlete of the Year
Kendra Schaaf, So., Washington

Newcomer of the Year
Jordan Hasay, Fr., Oregon

Coach of the Year
Greg Metcalf, Washington

Now on Pac-12 Network
12:00 AM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder