Pac-12 Content Image

PASADENA, Calif. -- Defending Pac-10 champion OREGON narrowly edges out USC as the choice to win the 2010 Pac-10 Conference football title in a preseason poll of West Coast media members who regularly cover the league. The Ducks were listed in the top spot by 15 of the 35 voters participating in the poll and are picked to win the league for the just the second time (also in 2001).

Oregon finished 8-1 in Conference play to win the league by two full games last season and earned its first appearance in the Rose Bowl since 1994. USC picked up 12 first-place votes and fell just three points behind the Ducks, equalling the second-closest voting since the preseason poll began in 1961.

OREGON STATE was tabbed to finish third in the poll, followed by STANFORD, ARIZONA and WASHINGTON. A record seven teams received at least one first-place vote in the balloting.

The media poll has correctly selected the Conference Champion in 26 of 49 previous polls, including nine of the last 10. Following are the results of the preseason media poll (points 10-9-8-7-6-5-4-3-2-1, first-place votes in parentheses):

1. Oregon (15) ...................314

2. USC (12) .......................311

3. Oregon State (3) ............262

4. Stanford (1) ...................233

5. Arizona (2) ....................222

6. Washington (1) ..............209

7. California .......................175

8. UCLA (1) .......................134

9. Arizona State ...................81

10. Washington State .............39

POLL NOTES: Preseason media poll has correctly picked the Conference champion 26 of 49 times and has been very accurate of late in correctly identifying the Conference champion in nine of the last 10 years … Oregon snapped USC's hold on the top spot after the Trojans were the media's pick to win the league each of the last seven years … The threepoint edge Oregon has over USC in the 2010 poll equals the second-closest poll ever. USC was picked by two points to edge UCLA for the championship in 1989. Other three-point margins included UCLA over Arizona State in 1998, and Washington over USC in 2000. In all three instances, the team picked to win the league did, indeed, go on to claim the title … The diverse voting of the pollsters had Arizona, Oregon and Stanford each receiving first-place votes and picked to finish as low as ninth.

    Media Actual Rose Bowl/BCS Predicted
Year   Poll Pick Finish Representative Finish
1961   UCLA 1st UCLA 1st
1962   Washington 2nd USC 2nd
1963   USC 2nd Washington 2nd
1964   Washington 3rd Oregon State 6th
1965   USC 2nd UCLA 7th
1966   USC 1st USC 1st
1967   USC 1st USC 1st
1968   USC 1st USC 1st
1969   USC 1st USC 1st
1970   USC 6th Stanford 2nd
1971   USC 2nd Stanford 2nd
1972   USC 1st USC 1st
1973   USC 1st USC 1st
1974   USC 1st USC 1st
1975   USC 5th UCLA 3rd
1976   USC 1st USC 1st
1977   USC 2nd Washington 3rd
1978   USC 1st USC 1st
1979   USC 1st USC 1st
1980   USC 3rd Washington 3rd
1981   USC 2nd Washington 4th
1982   USC 3rd UCLA 3rd
1983   Arizona 5th UCLA 5th
1984   UCLA 3rd USC 3rd
1985   USC 4th UCLA 5th
1986   UCLA 2nd Arizona State 4th
1987   UCLA 2nd USC 4th
1988   UCLA 2nd USC 2nd
1989   USC 1st USC 1st
1990   Washington 1st Washington 1st
1991   Washington 1st Washington 1st
1992   Washington 1st Washington 1st
1993   Washington 4th UCLA 6th
1994   Arizona 2nd Oregon 8th
1995   USC 1st USC 1st
1996   USC 5th Arizona State 2nd
1997   Washington 4th Washington State 7th
1998   UCLA 1st UCLA 1st
1999   Arizona 6th Stanford 8th
2000   Washington 1st Washington 1st
2001   Oregon 1st Oregon 1st
2002   Washington State 1st Washington State 1st
2003   USC 1st USC 1st
2004   USC 1st USC 1st
2005   USC 1st USC 1st
2006   USC 1st USC 1st
2007   USC 1st USC 1st
2008   USC 1st USC 1st
2009   USC 5th Oregon 3rd
2010   Oregon ? ? ?

Now on Pac-12 Network
9:00 PM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network