WALNUT CREEK, Calif. - The Pac-10 Conference has announced that Cal Poly and UC Santa Barbara will join the Conference in men's swimming and diving beginning with the 2010-11 season.

The Pac-10 Council, following the recommendation of the Senior Women Administrators Committee (SWAC), approved the addition of both Cal Poly and UCSB as af!liate members for the upcoming academic year.

Under head coach Tom Milich, Cal Poly finished third at the 2010 Big West Conference Championships, its highest finish. The Mustangs were paced by Peter Kline, who won two events and became the program's first NCAA Championships qualifier since Cal Poly joined Division I in 1994.

UCSB, led by head coach Gregg Wilson, has won 26 Big West titles over the last 34 years. The Gauchos won 23-consecutive titles from 1979 to 2001. UCSB !nished second at the Big West Championships in 2010, where Tim Freeman broke the 20-year old Conference record in the 100 meter breaststroke with a time of 53.90.

The Pac-10 has a long tradition of excellence in men's swimming and diving, with five Conference schools winning 21 NCAA team championships. USC leads the Conference with nine team national titles. Arizona was the last Pac-10 school to win the NCAA crown in 2008.

The Pac-10 Men's Swimming Championships will take place at the Belmont Plaza Olympic Pool in Long Beach on March 2-5, 2011. Diving will be held in conjunction with the Pac-10 Women's Swimming Championships on February 23-26, 2011, at the Weyerhaeuser King County Aquatics Complex in Federal Way, Wash.