Ogwumike, Pedersen Named To WBCA Preseason Wade Watch

WALNUT CREEK, Calif. -- STANFORD's Nnemkadi Ogwumike and Kayla Pedersen represented the Pac-10 Conference on the WBCA's prestigious Preseason Wade Watch list. The 25-member list is made up of top NCAA Division I student-athletes who best embody the spirit of Lily Margaret Wade according to the following criteria: game and season statistics, leadership, character, effect on their team and overall playing ability.

The Cardinal is one of five schools with multiple representatives. Tennessee leads the way with three, while Connecticut, Ohio State and Xavier each have two players on the preseason list.

A junior, Ogwumike (Cypress, Texas) is the reigning Pac-10 Player of the Year and was a WBCA State Farm All-American in 2010, leading Stanford to the NCAA Championship title game. She led the Conference with 18.5 points per game and shot 60.9 percent from the floor. She also finished second in rebounding, grabbing 9.9 boards per game, en route to earning All-America honors by the Associated Press and United States Basketball Writers Association (USBWA).

A senior, Pedersen (Fountain Hills, Ariz.) was among the top players named to the preseason watch list last season and earns a spot for the third-consecutive year. In 2009-10, She earned a place on the All-Pac-10 and All-Pac-10 Tournament teams. She also was a key element in the Cardinal's run to the national championship title game, also garnering a spot on the NCAA's All-Final Four team. Pedersen averaged 15.8 ppg and 9.5 rpg, also shooting 37.7 percent from long range.

The State Farm Wade Trophy, now in its 34th year and named after the late, legendary three-time national champion Delta State University coach, Lily Margaret Wade, debuted in 1978 as the first-ever women's national player of the year award in college basketball. This highly prestigious award, regarded as the "Heisman of Women's Basketball," is organized by the WBCA, in conjunction with the National Association for Girls and Women in Sport (NAGWS).

The 2011 State Farm Wade Trophy winner will be announced at the WBCA National Convention, held in conjunction with the NCAA Women's Final Four, in Indianapolis, Indiana.

- www.pac-10.org -

  • Inside Pac-12 Basketball: NBA Draft Special
    TODAY | 9:00pm PT

    Airing on:

    • Pac-12 Oregon
    • Pac-12 Network
    • Pac-12 Arizona
    • Pac-12 Bay Area
    • Pac-12 Los Angeles
    • Pac-12 Washington
    • Pac-12 Mountain
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder