Five Pac-10 QBs Named to Manning Award Watch List

 WALNUT CREEK, Calif. -- The Allstate Sugar Bowl announced the complete preseason Manning Award Watch List on Monday. The list includes 33 of the top-collegiate quarterbacks in the nation heading into the 2010 season, five of those being Pac-10 quarterbacks. ARIZONA junior Nick Foles, CALIFORNIA senior Kevin Riley, STANFORD sophomore Andrew Luck, USC sophomore Matt Barkley and WASHINGTON senior Jake Locker represent the Conference. Foles, Locker and Luck were All-Pac-10 honorable mention selections in 2009.

The 2010 Pac-10 football season kicks off on Thursday, Sept. 2, when USC faces Hawai'i on ESPN. Foles will lead Arizona on Friday, Sept. 3 against Toledo. The rest of the Pac-10 squads begin their bid for the Conference crown on Saturday, Sept. 4.

The Pac-10 tied with the Atlantic Coast Conference and Western Athletic Conference for the most nominees with five. USC's Matt Leinart is the only Pac-10 quarterback to have won the award, taking the honor in 2005 in its inaugural season.

The Manning Award was created by the Allstate Sugar Bowl in honor of the college football accomplishments of Archie, Peyton and Eil Manning. It is the only quarterback award that includes the candidates' bowl performance in its ballotting. Additional quarterbacks may be added to the Watch List after the start of the season, with a list of 10 finalists to be released on Monday, Nov. 29. The winner will be announced after the bowl games on Wednesday, Jan. 19 and will be honored at a February ceremony in New Orleans.

To see the complete list of nominees, visit,