Arizona's Schluntz Selected As Finalist For 2010 NCAA Woman of the Year

Pac-12 Content Image

WALNUT CREEK, Calif. - Former ARIZONA swimmer and current Rhodes Scholar Justine Schluntz has been selected as one of nine finalists for the 2010 NCAA Woman of the Year award.

The prestigious award honors female student-athletes who have distinguished themselves throughout their collegiate career in the areas of academic achievement, athletics excellence, community service and leadership.

Schluntz, a five-time NCAA individual national champion, is one of 32 U.S. students to earn a Rhodes Scholarship this year and will research the viability of harnessing tidal energy from the ocean for use as a renewable source. A native of Albuquerque, N.M., Schluntz earned a 4.0 as a graduate student studying fluid dynamics. She earned a bachelor of science degree in mechanical engineering from Arizona in 2009, graduating summa cum laude. Arizona presented her with the Robie Medal at commencement, given to a student who exhibits "promise for the future."

In July, Schluntz was chosen as the 2009-10 ESPN The Magazine Academic All-America of the Year for the University Division. She was also named the 2010 Pac-10 Women's Swimming Scholar Athlete of the Year and Pac-10 Woman of the Year.

Schluntz earned 16 All-American honors in her career as a Wildcat. She was a member of Arizona's record-setting 200-yard freestyle and 400-yard medley relay teams that own NCAA and American relay records. Schluntz was a valuable member of the Wildcat team that captured the 2008 NCAA Championship.

In addition to her academic and athletic achievements, Schluntz has shown her dedication to several Tucson, Ariz., organizations. Among her numerous community service activities, Schluntz has worked with Big Brothers/Big Sisters, taught youth swim lessons and distributed Christmas presents to children.

Schluntz looks to join three other Wildcats who have won the prestigious award. Swimmers Whitney Myers and Lacey Nymeyer won in 2007 and 2009, respectively, while track and field athlete Tanya Hughes won in 1994. Arizona looks to be the first school with four NCAA Woman of the Year honorees.

Now on Pac-12 Network
10:30 AM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network