Maehl, Onyeali and Fischer Named Pac-10 Football Players of the Week

Pac-12 Content Image

WALNUT CREEK,Calif.--Wide receiver Jeff Maehl of OREGON, defensive end Junior Onyeali of ARIZONA STATE and linebacker Jake Fischer of ARIZONA have been named Pac-10 Players of the Week in football.

Maehl, a senior from Paradise, Calif., caught eight passes for a career-best 145 yards and a personal-best three touchdowns (15, 45, and 30 yards) in the 53-32 win over USC - each of his three touchdowns came at times Oregon was trailing in the game and gave Ducks the lead, his last one the lead they wouldn't relinquish. Over the last three games, he's collected 26 receptions for 371 yards. Maehl has 148 career receptions and needs 14 more to reach the top five on Oregon's all-time list.

Onyeali, a freshman from Denver, Colo., started the third game of his career in the 42-0 shutout of Washington State. Onyeali collected four tackles (all solo) for losses of 28 yards, including a career-high three quarterback sacks for losses of 27 yards. He also forced two fumbles on the night. The Sun Devils limited Washington State to 264 yards of total offense (8 rushing, 256 passing).

Fischer, a sophomore from Oro Valley, Ariz., helped preserve a Wildcat lead with his special teams play in the second half of Arizona's 29-21 victory at UCLA. The Bruins, who had just cut a 12-point deficit down to five points, forced Arizona to punt from its own 27-yard line midway through the fourth quarter. The Wildcats called for a fake punt on fourth-and-3, which Fischer turned into a 29-yard gain to maintain possession and ultimately flip the field position on the Bruins. After that, UCLA started each of its final two drives from inside its own 30-yard line. The Bruins netted minus six yards of offense on those two possession. On UA's kickoff coverage teams, he recorded two tackles in the second half. Each of Fischer's kickoff coverage tackles kept the Bruins inside their own 30-yard line.

Also nominated for offensive player of the week honors were quarterback Matt Scott of Arizona, quarterback Steven Threet of Arizona State, running back Jacquizz Rodgers of Oregon State, quarterback Andrew Luck of Stanford, wide receiver Randall Carroll of UCLA. Also nominated on defense were defensive end Brooks Reed of Arizona, linebacker Spencer Paysinger of Oregon, linebacker Keith Pankey of Oregon State, linebacker Chase Thomas of Stanford, and safety Tony Dye of UCLA. Also nominated on special teams were punter Trevor Hankins of Arizona State, linebacker Bosko Lokombo or Oregon, kicker Nate Whitaker of Stanford, and punter Jeff Locke of UCLA.

Date Offense Defense Special Teams
Sept. 7 Kenjon Barner, RB, ORE Lance Mitchell, S, OSU Cliff Harris, PR, ORE
Sept. 13 Jermaine Kearse, WR, WASH Mike Thomas, CB, STAN Jackson Rice, P, ORE
Sept. 20 Nick Foles, QB, ARIZ Patrick Larimore, LB, UCLA Travis Cobb, KR, ARIZ
Sept. 27 Ryan Taylor, C,  UCLA Sean Westgate, LB, UCLA Nate Whitaker, PK, STAN
Oct. 4 LaMichael James, RB, ORE Cliff Harris, CB, ORE Erik Folk, PK, WASH
Oct. 11 Ryan Katz, QB, OSU Darian Hagan, CB, CAL Bryan Anger, P, CAL
Oct. 18 Matt Barkley, QB, USC Shaquille Richardson, CB, ARIZ Joe Houston, PK, USC
Oct. 25 Matt Scott, QB, ARIZ Paul Vassallo, LB, ARIZ Keenan Allen, KR, CAL
Nov. 1 Jeff Maehl Junior Onyeali, DE, ASU Jake Fischer, LB, ARIZ
Now on Pac-12 Network
11:00 PM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network