Osweiler, Thomas and Miles Named Pac-10 Football Players of the Week

Pac-12 Content Image

WALNUT CREEK,Calif.--Quarterback Brock Osweiler of ARIZONA STATE, outside linebacker Chase Thomas of STANFORD and kick returner Jamal Miles of Arizona State have been named Pac-10 Players of the Week in football.

Osweiler, a sophomore from Kalispell, Mont., came off the bench when starter Steven Threet suffered a head injury in the first quarter, with his team down, and promptly completed 27 of 38 passes for 380 yards with four touchdowns (5, 32, 7 and 15 yards) and no interceptions in Arizona State's come-from-behind 55-34 win over UCLA. Osweiler rushed six times for 35 yards (5.8 average), added one score (15 yards) and avoided being sacked.

Thomas, a junior from Marietta, Ga., recorded nine tackles, including 3.5 for loss and 2.5 sacks in the 38-0 win over Oregon State. He also forced one fumble and added a pass break up in leading the Cardinal to its third shutout of the season. It's the first time Stanford has had three shutouts in the same season since 1969.

Miles, a sophomore from Peoria, Ariz., returned a kickoff 99 yards for a touchdown in Arizona State's come-from-behind 55-34 win over UCLA. Miles became the third different Sun Devil player who has returned a kickoff for a touchdown in 2010. Miles return turned a close game (31-27 ASU lead at the time) into into a comfortable lead for the Sun Devils. The three kickoff returns for touchdowns set an ASU school record, and tied a Pac-10 record, for the most in a single season. Miles also returned four punts for 16 yards and caught three passes for 20 yards.

Also nominated for offensive player of the week honors were quarterbacks Nick Foles of Arizona, Darron Thomas of Oregon, Andrew Luck of Stanford, Richard Brehuat of UCLA, and running back Chris Polk of Washington. Also nominated on defense were safety Eddie Elder of Arizona State, linebacker Casey Matthews of Oregon, safety Tony Burnett of USC, and linebacker Mason Foster of Washington. Also nominated on special teams were place kickers Nate Whitaker of Stanford, Kai Forbath of UCLA, Joe Houston of USC, and punter Kiel Rasp of Washington.

Date Offense Defense Special Teams
Sept. 7 Kenjon Barner, RB, ORE Lance Mitchell, S, OSU Cliff Harris, PR, ORE
Sep. 13 Jermaine Kearse, WR, WASH Mike Thomas, CB, STAN Jackson Rice, P, ORE
Sept. 20 Nick Foles, QB, ARIZ Patrick Larimore, LB, UCLA Travis Cobb, KR, ARIZ
Sept. 27 Ryan Taylor, C, UCLA Sean Westgate, LB, UCLA Nate Whitaker, PK, STAN
Oct. 4 LaMichael James, RB, ORE Cliff Harris, CB, ORE Erik Folk, PK, WASH
Oct. 11 Ryan Katz, QB, OSU Darian Hagan, CB, CAL Bryan Anger, P, CAL
Oct. 18 Matt Barkley, QB, USC Shaquille Richardson, CB, ARIZ Joe Houston, PK, USC
Oct. 25 Matt Scott, QB, ARIZ Paul Vassallo, LB, ARIZ Keenan Allen, KR, CAL
Nov. 1 Jeff Maehl, WR, ORE Junior Onyeali, DE, ASU Jake Fischer, LB, ARIZ
Nov. 8 Andrew Luck, QB, STAN T.J. McDonald, S, USC Kai Forbath, PK, UCLA
Nov. 15 Jeff Tuel, QB, WSU Mike Mohamed, LB, CAL Cliff Harris, PR, ORE
Nov. 22 Andrew Luck, QB, STAN Stephen Paea, DT, OSU Justin Kahut, PK, OSU
Nov. 29 Brock Osweiler, QB, ASU Chase Thomas, LB, STAN Jamal Miles, KR, ASU
Now on Pac-12 Network
2:30 AM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network