Twelve From Pac-10 Named AVCA All-Pacific Region

WALNUT CREEK, Calif. - Twelve Pac-10 players were named to the 14-member American Volleyball Coaches Association (AVCA) All-Pacific Region team, the AVCA announced today. USC's Falyn Fonoimoana was voted the Pacific Region's Freshman of the Year.

CALIFORNIA, STANFORD, USC and WASHINGTON each placed three on the all-region squad. The Golden Bears' honorees were MH/OPP SO Correy Johnson, SR S Carli Lloyd and JR OH Tarah Murrey. SR DS/L Gabi Ailes, SR OH Alix Klineman, the Pac-10 Player of the Year, and OH/S Cassidy Lichtman were selected from the Cardinal squad. A trio of juniors were picked from USC: JR S Kendall Bateman, JR OH Alex Jupiter and JR MB Lauren Williams. Lastly, from UW, the three voted to the all-region team were SR OH Kindra Carlson, SR OH Becky Perry and JR MB Bianca Rowland.

Six of the Pac-10's All-Pacific Region selections are repeat honorees, including Klineman, who is making her fourth appearance on the squad. Lloyd was named to the team for the third time, while Carlson, Jupiter, Lichtman and Rowland earn the honor for the second time.

The Pac-10's Freshman of the Year this season, Fonoimoana was an honorable mention selection, along with Cal SO MB Shannon Hawari, UCLA SR OH Dicey McGraw, OREGON SR OH Heather Meyers, and ARIZONA SR OH Tiffany Owens.

Four Pac-10 teams are headed to the NCAA Tournament regionals this weekend. The third overall seed in the tournament, Stanford and sixth-seeded USC are headed to Dayton to play their respective regional semifinal opponents on Friday, Dec. 10. Seventh-seeded California and Washington continue tournament play in Seattle on Friday, Dec. 10, as well.

For more information on the AVCA awards, visit For more NCAA Tournament information, visit the women's volleyball page at

Now on Pac-12 Network
7:15 AM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder