Jupiter and Lloyd Named Honda Sports Volleyball Award Finalists

WALNUT CREEK, Calif. - USC junior outside hitter Alex Jupiter and CALIFORNIA senior setter Carli Lloyd have been named finalists for the 2010-11 Honda Sports Volleyball Award. The two are finalists along with Penn State's Blair Brown and Texas' Juliann Faucette.

Jupiter was named AVCA All-America first team and AVCA All-Pacific Region after leading the Women of Troy to a 29-5 overall record and a trip to the NCAA Final Four. It was USC's sixth Final Four appearance in 11 seasons and the Trojans' first appearance since 2007. The Paris, France, native had 532 kills (4.40 kps) this season while hitting .299 with 38 service aces (0.31 saps), 304 digs (2.51 dps), 77 blocks (0.64 bps) and 625.0 points (5.17 pps). She finished the season ranked 11th in the nation for points per set and 15th for kills per set. A two-time All-American, Jupiter is vying to become the third USC player to win the award, following Debbie Green (1977-78) and April Ross (2003-04).

Lloyd led the Golden Bears to their first national championship match this season and was named the 2010 AVCA Player of the Year, the first Cal player to garner the award. The Bonsall, Calif., native is Cal's only All-American setter and is the second player in program history to receive three AVCA All-America certificates. A first team All-American this season, Lloyd was named to the NCAA Championship All-Tournament Team for her performance in the Final Four. She has been instrumental in the Bears' success for the past four seasons, guiding the squad to its first Pac-10 Championship and a program-record 30 wins this year. Lloyd ranks sixth all-time among Pac-10 players with 5,697 career assists. She ranked eighth in the NCAA with 11.83 assists per set and led all active Pac-10 players in career assists and blocks (398) this season.

All NCAA senior woman administrators will decide the winner, which will be announced January 11, 2011. American Honda will donate $1,000 to each of the school's women's athletic fund with the winner's program receiving $5,000.

Now on Pac-12 Network
12:30 AM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network