Stanford's Press Wins Prestigious MAC Hermann Trophy

WALNUT CREEK, Calif. -- STANFORD senior forward Christen Press is the recipient of the 2010 Missouri Athletic Club's Hermann Trophy Award, presented to the best female player in NCAA Division I soccer, the National Soccer Coaches Association of America (NSCAA) announced today.

Press was declared the winner after a vote of head coaches of Division I programs with current membership in the NSCAA. Notre Dame's Melissa Henderson was the second runner-up and CALIFORNIA's Alex Morgan finished third in the voting.

For the second-straight season, a Stanford forward has won the prestigious honor, as Press follows Kelley O'Hara, who won the award in 2009. The Pac-10 Player of the Year for 2010, Press led the nation with 60 points, 2.50 points per game and 26 goals this season. The 26 goals ties the Stanford single-season scoring record, set by last year's Hermann Trophy winner, O'Hara.

Stanford had an impressive 67-0-1 record when Press had a goal or assist during her collegiate career. She is the Cardinal's all-time scorer in NCAA Tournament play with 13 goals. This season, Press led Stanford to its second consecutive perfect conference season, sending the team to its third consecutive College Cup. The Palos Verdes Estates, Calif., native leaves The Farm as the most prolific scorer in Stanford history, breaking career records in goals (71), assists (41) and points (183).

Now on Pac-12 Network
10:30 AM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder