Skip to main content

CU Pair Named To Academic All-Big 12 Women's Basketball Team

Feb 15, 2011

BOULDER - University of Colorado sophomore Meagan Malcolm-Peck and junior Julie Seabrook were named to the Academic All-Big 12 Conference Women's Basketball Team, the league office announced on Tuesday.

Seabrook and Malcolm-Peck were each named to the second team. The league academic honor is the second for Seabrook, who was a first team pick in 2010, and the first for Malcolm-Peck, who is in her first season of eligibility for this recognition.

Seabrook, a native of North Vancouver, B.C., has started all 23 games for the Buffaloes this year averaging 5.8 points and 5.8 rebounds a game. She is shooting a team-best 49.1 percent from the field and ranks 14th in the Big 12 in rebounding during league contests at 6.1 per outing. Currently the community service chair for CU's Student-Athlete Advisory Committee, Seabrook is a business major in the Leeds School of Business.

Malcolm-Peck, a native Boulder, is averaging 6.9 points and 4.4 rebounds per game while shooting a team-best 39.7 percent from 3-point range. She tops the Big 12 in 3-point percentage during league only contests, hitting 12-of-24 from long distance. Malcolm-Peck, who already ranks among CU's career top 20 in blocked shots (16th with 48) and 3-point field goals (17th with 49), is planning to major in business.

Nominated by each institution's director of student-athlete support services and media relations offices, the women's basketball academic all-league squad consisted of 30 first team members combined with 16 on the second team. First team members have recorded a 3.20 or better GPA, while the second team are those with a 3.00 to 3.19 GPA. To qualify student-athletes must maintain a 3.00 GPA or higher either cumulative or in the two previous semesters and have participated in 60 percent of her team's scheduled contests.

Since the formation of the Big 12 for the 1996-97 season, CU's women's basketball team has had 61 Academic All-Big 12 selections, including 40 first team honorees.