Four Swimming and Diving Champions Repeat on Day 3 of Pac-10 Championships

Championship Central

Federal Way, Wash. - Four Pac-10 champions defended their 2010 titles on Friday at the 2011 Pac-10 Conference Women's Swimming and Men's and Women's Diving Championships at the Weyerhaeuser King County Aquatic Center in Federal Way, Wash. Among the group was USC junior Victoria Ishimatsu, who won her fifth career diving title with a third-straight victory on the 3-meter springboard.

USC again started the night with two victories as junior Katinka Hosszu captured a sweep of the individual medley events, winning the 400-yard IM in 4:00.41 after taking the 200 IM on Thursday. STANFORD freshman Maya DiRado was second (4:02.48) and CALIFORNIA sophomore Caitlin Leverenz finished third (4:02.72). All three swam automatic NCAA qualifying times. Touching the wall in fourth was UCLA's Lauren Hall (4:07.38), followed by the USC trio of Stina Gardell (4:09.19), Meghan Hawthorne (4:10.76) and Jessie Schmitt (4:11.08) and Stanford's Andie Taylor (4:11.64).

In the next event, Trojan senior Lyndsay DePaul won 100-yard butterfly with a winning time of 51.34. Finishing second and third were Cal seniors Amanda Sims (51.64) and Hannah Wilson (52.41), respectively. DePaul and Sims both recorded automatic NCAA qualifying times. In fourth was ARIZONA STATE's Caroline Kuczynski (52.52), followed by Cal's Colleen Fotsch (52.57), Stanford's Sam Woodward (52.78) and Felicia Lee (53.22) and OREGON STATE's Rachel O'Brien (54.04).

Stanford senior Kate Dwelley swam 1:44.61 to win her second-straight 200-yard freestyle crown. Placing second was Cal junior Sara Isakovic (1.44.94) and behind her was ASU sophomore Shannon Landgrebe (1:45.26). Cal's Liv Jensen finished fourth in 1:45.98, followed by UCLA's Alex Sullivan (1:46.80), Stanford's Andi Murez (1:46.88), ASU's Cassie Morrice (1:47.04) and ARIZONA's Margo Geer (1:47.17).

Arizona State junior Rebecca Ejdervik made it two in a row in the 100-yard breaststroke, touching the wall in 58.90. USC freshman Kasey Carlson was second (59.12) and Arizona sophomore Ellyn Baumgardner was third (1:00.25). Ejdervik and Carlson both had automatic NCAA qualifying times. Placing fourth was Stanford's Liz Smith (1:00.91), followed by UCLA's Brittany Beauchan (1:01.04), Cal's Melissa Bates (1:01.06), Arizona's Chelsea Salli (1:01.29) and Stanford's Kerry Kraemer (1:01.57).

Cal freshman Cindy Tran set the first individual Pac-10 meet record of the week, winning the 100-yard backstroke in 51.22. The previous Pac-10 Championship record was 51.65 by Arizona's Ana Agy in 2009. In second was last year's champion, USC senior Presley Bard (52.23). Placing third was Stanford junior Betsy Webb (52.90) and fourth was Arizona's Sarah Denninghoff (53.00). All four recorded automatic NCAA qualifying times. In fifth was Arizona's Aubrey Peacock (53.28), followed by Cal's Colleen Fotsch (53.37), ASU's Kelli Kyle (53.55) and Cal's Deborah Roth (54.17).

The Golden Bears won their third relay race of the week, setting the Pac-10 meet record with a time of 3:28.99. CindyTran, Caitlin Leverenz, Amanda Sims and Liv Jensen eclipsed the previous record of 3:31.74, set by Stanford in 2002. USC (3:31.08) and Arizona State (3:33.99) rounded out the top three. Stanford was fourth (3:34.54), followed by Arizona (3:34.92), UCLA (3:35.83), WASHINGTON STATE (3:45.38) and Oregon State (3:46.99).

USC junior Victoria Ishimatsu now has three-straight 3-meter crowns, recording 357.95 points after finishing second in the preliminary round. With two in a row on the 1-meter, Ishimatsu brings her career total to five. Arizona State junior Elina Eggers (336.95) and senior Brittany Jumer (327.65) placed second and third. Stanford's Stephanie Phipps finished fourth (321.20), followed by UCLA's Paulina Guzman, Arizona's Samantha Pickens (314.10), ASU's Hailey Casper (312.80) and Cal's Kelsey Heiken (292.05).

After three days of competition, Cal has taken the lead in the team standings with 1047.5 points. Stanford is second with 990.5 and USC is third (886). UCLA sits in fourth (689), followed by Arizona (590), Arizona State (545), Washington State (223) and Oregon State (215).

Arizona State sophomore Riley McCormick defended his Pac-10 title on the platform from 2010, winning this year's event with 440.70 points. All three returning event champions repeated, with USC junior Harrison Jones taking the 1-meter on Wednesday and Sun Devil junior Constantin Blaha winning the 3-meter on Thursday. Jones finished second on the tower (409.00) and Stanford senior Brent Eichenseer (374.85) rounded out the top three. Placing fourth was USC's Steven Starks (362.85), followed by the Stanford trio of Taylor Sishc (343.70), Dhruv Tyagi (294.00) and Noah Garcia (283.20) and Arizona's Andres Guerra (274.90).

As part of the Pac-10's celebration of 25 years of women's athletics in the 2010-11 season, Pac-10 swimming alumnae will be serving as award presenters throughout the event. Tonight's honorees were former Oregon State swimmers Mari Embertson and Suzanne Starkey and former Washington swimmer Jana Ellis Vincent.

The 2011 Pac-10 Women's Swimming and Men's and Women's Diving Championships conclude Saturday, Feb. 25 with preliminaries at 11 a.m. and finals at 6 p.m. Tomorrow's diving event is the women's platform. Swimming events will be the 1650 freestyle, 200 backstroke, 100 freestyle, 200 breaststroke, 200 butterfly and 400 freestyle relay.

Now on Pac-12 Network
4:30 PM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder