Stanford Captures 2011 Pac-10 Women's Swimming & Diving Championships

- Complete Results
- Championship Apparel

Federal Way, Wash. - In a close race, STANFORD captured the 2011 Pac-10 Conference Women's Swimming and Diving Championships by 22 points over CALIFORNIA on Saturday at the Weyerhaeuser King County Aquatic Center in Federal Way, Wash. The title is the Cardinal's second-straight and 18th overall.

Trailing Cal entering the final day of competition, the Cardinal won three individual events and picked up valuable points in the 1650-yard freestyle with four finishers in the top eight to hold off the Golden Bears down the stretch. Stanford finished with 1567.5 points to Cal's 1545.5. USC placed third (1309.5), followed by UCLA (1099.5), ARIZONA (874), ARIZONA STATE (780), WASHINGTON STATE (297) and OREGON STATE (289).

"This Pac-10 Championships has probably been one of the closest meets in history," said Stanford head coach Lea Maurer. "It's unbelievable. It was a total team effort by swimming and diving."

USC sophomore Haley Anderson began the final evening by defending her crown in the 1650-yard freestyle, swimming 15:55.88. Anderson also won the 500 free on Thursday. Finishing second was Stanford senior Kelsey Ditto (16:00.62) and Cardinal freshman Andie Taylor (16:06.69).

Stanford freshman Maya DiRado won her first Pac-10 title, taking the 200-yard backstroke in 1:53.04, an automatic NCAA qualifying time. CALIFORNIA freshman Stephanie Au was second (1:54.96) just ahead of ARIZONA freshman Sarah Denninghoff (1:54.99).

Cardinal senior Kate Dwelley won her second event of the week, adding the 100-yard freestyle to her 200 free crown from Friday. Dwelley touched the wall in 48.14, followed by Cal junior Liv Jensen (48.34) and senior Hannah Wilson (48.46).

Cal sophomore Caitlin Leverenz captured her first individual title, winning the 200-yard breaststroke in 2:07.45. Stanford senior Liz Smith was second in 2:10.02 and Arizona State's Jordyn Green rounded out the top three in 2:10.68. Both Leverenz and Green recorded automatic NCAA qualifying times.

USC junior Katinka Hosszu won her third individual event by claiming the 200-yard butterfly in 1:51.85 after sweeping the 200 and 400 individual medley events earlier in the week. Fellow Trojan, senior Lyndsay DePaul finished second in 1:54.03 and Cal senior Amanda Sims was third (1:54.66). All three had automatic NCAA qualifying times.

Stanford senior Meg Hostage captured her second career diving title and first since 2008 by winning the platform with 322.65 points. Arizona State junior Elina Eggers was second (319.25) and UCLA senior Laura Winn finished third (269.20).

Cal took the 400-yard freestyle relay in 3:13.59 over Stanford (3:13.84) and Arizona (3:15.15). Making up the winning quartet for the Bears were Hannah Wilson, Colleen Fotsch, Erica Dagg and Liv Jensen.

The Trojans swept the individual meet awards. Katinka Hosszu earned Women's Swimmer of the Meet after her outstanding performances.

"We did well, and I'm proud of how I swam," said Hosszu. "I can't wait for NCAAs."

Junior Victoria Ishimatsu, who won both the 1-meter and 3-meter events to bring her career total to five, was named Women's Diver of the Meet.

Junior Harrison Jones was named Men's Diver of the Meet after winning his second-straight 1-meter crown and finishing second on the tower and third on the 3-meter.

"One-meter was my best event here, and I felt great," said Jones. "I got the whole spectrum of medals, so I'm very happy. I can't wait to come back next year and do it again.

As part of the Pac-10's celebration of 25 years of women's athletics in the 2010-11 season, Pac-10 swimming alumnae served as award presenters throughout the event. Tonight's honorees included Susan Mayfield, a four-time All-American while swimming for Stanford.

Photo Credit: Chuckarelei

Now on Pac-12 Network
9:00 PM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder