Boise State Wins 2011 Pac-10 Wrestling Championship

Post-match Interviews

- Zack Giesen (Stanford)

- Anthony Robles (ASU)

- Colby Covington (OSU)

Championship Apparel

Boise State won its sixth Pac-10 wrestling championship and third in the last four years by outdistancing second place Oregon State 147.0-137.5. The sixth-ranked Broncos claimed four individual titles to hold off the host Beavers in Gill Coliseum. Arizona State's Anthony Robles was named Most Outstanding Wrestler for the tournament.

Boise State overcame a half point deficit to OSU by winning four of the six title matches they faced. The Broncos earned a Conference-high seven automatic qualifying berths into the NCAA Tournament.

Robles won his third consecutive Pac-10 championship at 125 pounds with a 14-4 decision over Jason Lara from Oregon State. The Tempe, AZ native won all three of his matches in the tournament by a combined score of 46-5.

Stanford's Zack Giesen won the first championship of the night, claiming the 197-pound title for the first time in his career. The senior from Grants Pass, Ore, made it to the Pac-10 finals as a freshman, but never made it back, until tonight. Giesen posted two 1-point wins to make it to the finals, where he defeated ASU's Luke Macchiaroli,10-4.

Oregon State's Clayton Jack pulled out a thriller with a takedown in the final 20 seconds to win the heavyweight title, 6-4, over Boise State's J.T. Felix.

Andrew Hochstrasser captured Boise State's first individual title with an 11-0 win over Oregon State's Garrett Drucker. It was the second Pac-10 title for Hochstrasser, who missed much of 2010 with injuries.

Boris Novachkov won his second career Pac-10 title with a 3-1 victory over Boise State's Levi Jones in the 141-pound division. Novachkov won the 133-pound crown in 2010.

Boise State's Jason Chamberlain regained the 149 weight class title after winning in 2009. Chamberlain outlasted OSU's Scott Sakaguchi, 6-2, in the title bout.

The 157-pound championship was decided in the last second of quadruple overtime when BSU's Adam Hall escaped from the grasp of ASU's Bubba Jenkins to earn a 4-3 victory.

Boise senior Kurt Swartz grinded out a 4-0 win over Bakersfield's Trevor Hall to claim the 165-pound title and automatic berth into the NCAA Tournament.

OSU senior Colby Covington scored a near fall in the final minute of his title match against Stanford's Nick Amuchastegui to earn a 10-4 win in the 174-pound division. It was Covington's second consecutive Pac-10 title.

In the final title bout of the night at 184, Jake Meredith gave ASU its second individual champion with a 4-2 win over OSU's Brice Arrand.

The Pac-10 had 26 wrestlers earn automatic bids into the NCAA Tournament, including seven for Boise State, six for OSU, six for ASU, four for Stanford, two for Cal Poly and one for Cal State Bakersfield. The qualifiers were: (125) Anthony Robles (ASU), Jason Lara (OSU), Allen Bartelli (BSU) and Ryan Mango (Stan); (133) Andrew Hochstrasser (BSU), Garrett Drucker (OSU) and Justin Paulsen (Stan); (141) Boris Novachkov (CP) and Levi Jones (BSU); (149) Jason Chamberlain (BSU) and Scott Sakaguchi (OSU); (157) Adam Hall (OSU), Bubba Jenkins (ASU) and Barrett Abel (CP); (165) Kurt Swartz (BSU); (174) Colby Covington (OSU), Nick Amuchastegui (Stan) and Eric Starks (ASU); (184) Jake Meredith (ASU); (197) Zack Giesen (Stan), Luke Macchiaroli (ASU), Riley Orozco (CSB) and Chad Hanke (OSU); (Heavyweight) Clayton Jack (OSU), J.T. Felix (BSU) and Levi Cooper (ASU).

Final Team Standings

Boise State: 147.0

Oregon State: 137.5

Arizona State: 117.0

Stanford: 114.0

Cal State Bakersfield: 97.0

Cal Poly: 96.5

Cal State Fullerton: 61.5

Now on Pac-12 Network
11:00 AM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder