Stanford Wins Unprecedented 30th-Straight Pac-10 Men's Swimming Title

- Championship Gear

LONG BEACH, Calif. - In an exciting final day of the 2011 Pac-10 Men's Swimming Championships on Saturday, March 5, 2011 in Long Beach, Calif., the Stanford Cardinal held on to win its 30th-straight Pac-10 title, a streak unmatched by any NCAA team in any NCAA sport.

In the first event of the day, the 1650y freestyle, Stanford senior Chad La Tourette had a strong swim as he was on pace to break the Pac-10 meet record, but settled in with an NCAA 'A' cut at 14:38.13 to win for the second-straight year. USC sophomore Charles Charlesworth, a member of the 2008 British Olympic team finished in second with a time of 14:38.13. Stanford junior Michael Zoldos rounded out the top three at 14:59.88.

In the 200y backstroke, Arizona junior Cory Chitwood won with a NCAA 'A' cut time of 1:41.19. Stanford sophomores Matthew Swanston and Matthew Thompson finished in second (1:41.47) and third (1:41.97), respectively.

In a star-studded 100y freestyle championship final, arguably the best field for the distance in collegiate swimming, besides the NCAA Championships, California senior Nathan Adrian turned in a time of 41.75 to take first. USC freshman Vlad Morozov challenged Adrian like he did in the 50y freestyle, finishing at 41.93, just tenths of a second behind the California star. Stanford senior Austin Stabb finished in third (42.46).

In the 200y breast finals, California came out like gangbusters, as junior Nolan Koon took first (1:54.42) and his teammate, senior Nick Ferrif finished in second (1:54.57). Stanford junior Curtis Lovelace took third (1:54.71).

And in a stunning performance, California sophomore Tom Shields put on a show in the 200y fly, as the 2010 NCAA titleholder won the event with a time of 1:40.31, breaking the Pac-10 meet record, the Pac-10 overall record and most notably the NCAA record. For his outstanding performance today and throughout the meet, Shields was named the Pac-10 Swimmer of the Meet. Two-time Pac-10 titleholder in the event, Stanford junior Bobby Bollier came in second (1:41.60) and USC senior Clement Lefert rounded out the top three (1:44.91).

In the final race of the meet, the 400y freestyle, California again made a statement, setting a Pac-10 meet record, as the team of senior Graeme Moore, senior Josh Daniels, Shields and anchor Adrian timed in at 2:48.16. Stanford's squad of senior Alex Colville, senior Jake Allen, sophomore Aaron Wayne and anchor Stabb turned in a NCAA 'A' qualifying time of 2:48.51 to finish second. The USC team finished in third with a time of 2:52.23, also a NCAA 'A' qualifier.

Stanford finished the meet with 911 points, winning its 30th-straight Pac-10 Men's Swimming title. California put up a hard fight and finished with 864 points, USC in third with 534 points, Arizona finished in fourth with 483 points, in fifth was Arizona State (273), UC Santa Barbara finished in sixth (184) and Cal Poly rounded out the field with 158 points.

Now on Pac-12 Network
10:30 AM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder