Pac-10 Announces Women's Basketball Media Awards

WALNUT CREEK, Calif. -- A panel of Pac-10 women's basketball media members who cover the league voted STANFORD SR G Jeanette Pohlen Pac-10 Player of the Year; STANFORD F Chiney Ogwumike Pac-10 Freshman of the Year; USC JR G Briana Gilbreath Pac-10 Defensive Player of the Year; and STANFORD head coach Tara VanDerveer Pac-10 Coach of the Year, the Conference office announced today.

Jeanette Pohlen (Brea, Calif.) was also the coaches' pick for Pac-10 Player of the Year, which was announced earlier this week. An All-American and national player of the year candidate, Pohlen is averaging a team-high tying 15.8 points and 4.8 assists per game, while leading the Cardinal to a second-straight undefeated Pac-10 season and a No. 2 national ranking. She is a threat from long range, knocking down .432 of her three-point attempts, which ranks 14th in the country. In the upset-win over No. 1 Connecticut on Dec. 30, Pohlen scored a career-high 31 points and grabbed nine rebounds, as Stanford broke the Huskies' NCAA-record 90-game winning streak.

Chiney Ogwumike (Cypress, Texas) has made an immediate impact on a Stanford squad that has gone 27-2 overall and 18-0 in Conference play. A starter in 28 games, she averages 11.4 points and 7.6 rebounds per game, 0.1 rpg behind team-leader and older sister Nnemkadi. Chiney's efficiency on the offensive end has translated to a .567 field goal shooting percentage, which ranks second in the Pac-10.

Briana Gilbreath (Katy, Texas) was the coaches' 2010 Pac-10 Co-Defensive Player of the Year and earned a spot on the all-defensive squad for the second-consecutive year. Gilbreath is the team's leading scorer (15.2 ppg) and rebounder (7.6 rpg), but also leads the team and ranks second in the Pac-10 with 2.55 steals per game and is third with a 1.48 blocks per game.

Tara VanDerveer is in her 25th season on the Stanford bench and has led the Cardinal to an 11th-consecutive Pac-10 regular-season title and 20th overall. This season, she became only the six women's basketball coach in the history of the NCAA to win 800 games and was named a finalist for the Naismith Memorial Basketball Hall of Fame. The Cardinal rank in the top 25 in the nation in 11 different statistical categories, including eight categories in which it appears in the top 10. Among those categories, Stanford is third in the nation in scoring margin (+25.5), field goal percentage (48.9) and field goal percentage defense (32.5), and fifth in scoring offense (79.8).

The media also selected a 15-member All-Pac-10 team, a five-member All-Defensive team and a five-member All-Freshman team.

It is the second year of the Pac-10 media awards and are in addition to the Conference awards voted on by the league coaches, which were announced on Tuesday. The panel included local and national media members.

2011 Pac-10 Media All-Pac-10:
Talia Caldwell, CAL; Jasmine Dixon, UCLA; Briana Gilbreath, USC; El Sara Greer, OSU; Ify Ibekwe, ARIZ; Nia Jackson, ORE; Amanda Johnson, ORE; Kristi Kingma, WASH; Darxia Morris, UCLA; Chiney Ogwumike, STAN; Nnemkadi Ogwumike, STAN; Kayla Pedersen, STAN; Jeanette Pohlen, STANFORD; DeNesha Stallworth, CAL; Dymond Simon, ASU.

2011 Pac-10 Media All-Freshman Team:
Alexis Bostick, OSU; Cassie Harberts, USC; Alyssa Martin, OSU; Chiney Ogwumike, STAN; Sage Romberg, WSU.

2011 Media All-Defensive Team:
Jasmine Dixon, UCLA; Briana Gilbreath, USC; Ify Ibekwe, ARIZ; Chiney Ogwumike, STAN; Eliza Pierre, CAL.

Now on Pac-12 Network
6:15 AM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder