Two Pac-10 Teams, One Individual To Compete At NCAA Championships

Pac-12 Content Image


The 30th NCAA Women's Gymnastics Championships. The women's gymnastics championships consist of 12 teams and 12 all-around competitors (who are not on a qualifying team) and individual event specialists.


The competition, hosted by Kent State University and the Greater Cleveland Sports Commission, will be held at the Wolstein Center in Cleveland Ohio, April 15-17.


Competition begins Friday, April 15, with the preliminary rounds of the team competition. The excitement continues Saturday, April 16, with the Super Six Team Finals and concludes Sunday, April 17, with the Individual Event Finals. The Super Six Team Finals will take place at 4 p.m. ET, while the Individual Event Finals will begin at 1 p.m. ET. The meet will be televised by CBS via tape delay. It will air on Sat., May 14, at 3 p.m. ET.


Two Pac-10 teams are bound for Cleveland this week, in addition to one individual all-around qualifier. During Semifinal 1 on Friday, April 15, at 12 p.m. ET, No. 2 seed UCLA will compete against No. 3 Oklahoma, No. 6 Michigan, No. 7 Georgia, No. 10 Arkansas and No. 11 Illinois, for one of three spots in the NCAA Super Six Team Finals. WASHINGTON's Aliza Vaccher will compete as an individual in the all-around competition, paired with Georgia. To qualify for Sunday's event finals, Vaccher will need to place in the top four on an event during Friday's competition. Later that same day, at 6 p.m. ET (Semifinal 2), OREGON STATE, the No. 4 seed, will compete against No. 1 Alabama, No. 5 Florida, No. 8 Utah, No. 9 Nebraska, and No. 12 Kent State.


Oregon State (Semifinal 2) - Floor, Vault, Bye, Bars, Beam, Bye

UCLA - (Semifinal 1) - Bye, Floor, Vault, Bye, Bars, Beam


The top two teams and the top two all-around competitors from each of the six regionals received automatic berths to the national championships. In addition, the event winners at each regional also advance to the national championships (in their specific event) if they were not part of a qualifying team or the all-around qualifiers. The process for determining rotation pairings for day one of the team competition at the site of the finals is based on a National Qualifying Score (NQS) calculated by adding the Regional Qualifying Score (RQS) to the score achieved at regional competition. Once the NQS is calculated, teams are ranked based on the NQS from 1 to 12. Teams 1, 4, 5, 8, 9 and 12 were placed in Group A; and teams 2, 3, 6, 7, 10 and 11 placed in Group B. The host team and its corresponding group will compete in the second semifinal.


Oregon State's junior Leslie Mak won three individual titles, including the all-around competition, as the Beavers earned its sixth straight berth to the NCAA Championships following a win at the Corvallis Regional. The Beavers team score of 197.025 was its third score of 197+ this season, and second time in postseason. Mak was named the West Region Gymnast of the Year by the National Association of Collegiate Gymnastics Coaches (NACGC), while coaches Tanya Chaplin and Michael Chaplin were named West Region Coaches of the Year by the NACGC.

Defending NCAA Champion UCLA won the NCAA Athens Regional, as the Bruins posted a team score of 197.425. Bruin freshman Olivia Courtney won the all-around with a career-high 39.5, followed by junior Elyse Hopfner-Hibbs who was a close second, scoring 39.475. Junior Tauny Frattone won vault with a score of 9.925, Hopfner-Hibbs won beam with a 9.875, and senior Brittani McCullough won floor with a 9.925.

Washington's freshman Aliza Vaccher finished second in the all-around competition at Norman Regional. The Eugene, Ore., native finished with a career-best score of 39.250, just .050 behind Morgan Evans from North Carolina. Vaccher also posted career-best marks on the vault (9.850) and floor (9.800) while scoring a 9.775 on beam and a 9.825 on bars. She is the first Husky to advance to Nationals in the all-around since senior Haley Bogart did so her freshman year.

Now on Pac-12 Network
4:30 AM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network