2011 Pac-10 Women's Swimming Awards

Pac-12 Content Image

WALNUT CREEK, Calif. - USC junior Katinka Hosszu was named Pac-10 Women's Swimmer of the Year, STANFORD freshman Maya DiRado was named Pac-10 Women's Swimming Freshman/Newcomer of the Year and CALIFORNIA head coach Teri McKeever was named Pac-10 Women's Swimming Coach of the Year, Commissioner Larry Scott announced today. The awards were voted on by the Pac-10 head women's swimming coaches.

Hosszu was the only swimmer to win three titles at this year's NCAA Championships in Austin, Texas, claiming the 200 and 400 individual medley events as well as the 200 butterfly. The Bafa, Hungary, native set an NCAA record in the 400 IM and led the Trojans to a third-place team finish. Hosszu was named Women's Swimmer of the Meet at this year's Pac-10 Championships after winning the same three titles. After earning five All-America honors in 2011, she now has 13 in her career thus far. Last week, Hosszu won the 2011 Honda Sports Award in swimming and diving, designating her as the nation's top collegiate female athlete in the sport.

DiRado capped a strong freshman season with a second-place finish in the 200 IM at the NCAA Championships. The Santa Rosa, Calif., native also placed third in the 400 IM, fifth in the 200 backstroke and swam on two relays for the Cardinal. At the Pac-10 Championships, DiRado's contributions were essential in helping Stanford come from behind to defend its league title. After finishing second in the 400 IM and third in the 200 IM, DiRado won the 200 back on the final day of competition.

McKeever earned Pac-10 Women's Swimming Coach of the Year for the fourth time overall after leading Cal to its second NCAA Championship in three years. As with their win in 2009, Cal swimmers tied a program high with five national titles. Senior Amanda Sims won the 100 fly, freshman Cindy Tran captured the 100 back and the Bears took home three relay titles. McKeever will serve as the head women's coach at the 2012 Olympic Games in London.

Now on Pac-12 Network
7:30 PM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network