Arizona State's McCormick and Bradshaw and Stanford's Tyagi Capture 2011 Pac-10 Men's Diving Awards

Pac-12 Content Image

WALNUT CREEK, Calif. - ARIZONA STATE sophomore Riley McCormick was named Pac-10 Men's Diver of the Year, his coach Mark Bradshaw was named Pac-10 Men's Diving Coach of the Year and STANFORD freshman Dhruv Tyagi was named Pac-10 Men's Diving Freshman/Newcomer of the Year, Commissioner Larry Scott announced today. The awards were voted on by the Pac-10 head men's diving coaches.

This is McCormick's second-straight Pac-10 Men's Diver of the Year accolade. The Victoria, B.C., native defended his platform title at the Pac-10 Diving Championships, finishing with a score of 440.70. McCormick, a 2008 Olympian, won both the 1-meter and 3-meter titles at the Zone E Championships. At the NCAA Championships in Minneapolis, McCormick placed eighth on the 1-meter.

Cardinal freshman Tyagi competed in the finals of all three events at the Pac-10 Championships, with his highest finish being fifth on the 1-meter. A native of Fairport, N.Y., Tyagi also performed well in his first Zone E Championships, where he placed seventh in the 3-meter and ninth in the other two events.

Arizona State's Bradshaw led the Sun Devils to another successful season in 2010-11. Three of his divers - McCormick and juniors Constantin Blaha and Cameron Bradshaw - competed at the NCAA Championships. Blaha, the two-time Pac-10 Champion on the 3-meter, finished third in the event at the national meet. This is his eighth Pac-10 Men's Diving Coach of the Year honor, more than any coach in Conference history.

Now on Pac-12 Network
5:30 PM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network