2011 Pac-10 Individual Tennis Championships Preview

- Download Complete Release
- Championship Central
- Tournament Draw

The Pac-10's seven men's teams and nine women's teams head to Ojai, Calif., Thursday, Apr. 28 through Sunday, May 1 to decide the league's singles and doubles champions. The 32-player men's singles draw consists of four student-athletes from each school and four wild cards will be selected at the discretion of the draw committee. The 16-team men's doubles draw consists of two doubles teams from each school and two wild card teams will be selected by the committee. For the women, the 32-player singles draw consists of three players from each of the nine schools that sponsor women's tennis, with five additional competitors selected by a committee of coaches, based upon the participant's record. The 16-team women's doubles draw will have one doubles team from each school and seven additional teams selected by the committee, based upon the participants' record.

The Pac-10 Championships will be held in conjunction with the 111th Annual Ojai Valley Tennis Tournament. The Pac-10 men will compete at Libbey Park in Ojai for all rounds. The Pac-10 women will play at the Ojai Valley Athletic Club Thursday, Apr. 28 and Friday, Apr. 29. All semifinal and final matches on Saturday, Apr. 30 and Sunday, May 1 are at Libbey Park. Matches begin at 8 a.m., with two rounds of singles on opening day. One round of singles and two rounds of doubles will be played on Friday. The Pac-10 women's singles final will be held at 9:30 a.m. on Sunday, followed by the men's singles final at approximately 11 a.m. The women's doubles championship will follow at 12:30 p.m., with the men's doubles championship at 2 p.m. For the complete draw brackets, visit: http://tennislink.usta.com/Tournaments/Draws/TournamentDraws.aspx?T=99869

The Pac-10 Championships will again be the featured event at this year's 111th Ojai Valley Tennis Tournament, which attracts 1,600 of the best college, junior and open players from the Western states. The annual event, started by William Thacher in 1896, has been played at the same site and interrupted only five times. If this tournament, put on entirely by volunteer efforts on public and privately owned courts, seems an unlikely place to see championship quality players, consider who has appeared here: Pete Sampras, Lindsay Davenport, Michael Chang, Rick Leach, Tracy Austin, Billy Jean King, Arthur Ashe, Jimmy Connors and the Bryan twins. These tennis greats are among more than 85 former players at The Ojai who have gone on to win one or more Grand Slam events as professional tennis players, all of whom are listed on Libbey Park's "Wall of Fame."

Sixteen Pac-10 singles players are ranked in the ITA Top-125 national men's singles rankings (as of April 26).  Five Conference teams are represented by ranked individuals, with USC junior Steve Johnson topping the list at No. 1.

In doubles, Pac-10 men's teams occupy 11 spots among the ITA Top-90 national doubles rankings, with a ranked pair representing five different schools. STANFORD'S tandem of Bradley Klahn and Ryan Thacher is the highest-ranked duo at No. 2.

The Pac-10 women occupy 25 spots on the ITA's Top-125 singles rankings list through April 20.  Of the Top-five players in the nation, four hail from the Pac-10.  Junior Jana Juricova of CALIFORNIA is the No. 1 player in the nation, USC senior Maria Sanchez is ranked No. 2, STANFORD senior Hilary Barte is third and WASHINGTON junior Denise Dy is No. 5.

In doubles, Pac-10 women's teams hold 16 spots in the ITA Top-90 national doubles rankings, with eight schools represented.  The CALIFORNIA tandem of Mari Andersson and Jana Juricova are the highest-ranked doubles team in the country at No. 1 and the STANFORD duo of Hilary Barte and Mallory Burdette are ranked No. 2.

Now on Pac-12 Network
5:00 AM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder