Stanford Wins 100th NCAA Championship In School History

With a clutch rally over top-ranked Oklahoma, the Stanford men's gymnastics team captured its second national championship in three years, as well as the 100th NCAA Championship in school history, allowing Stanford to join UCLA as the only NCAA Division I institutions in the country to have 100 or more national championships. It was Stanford's fifth men's gymnastics championship.

Stanford has been a model of excellence in college athletics across all sports, winning 16-consecutive Learfield Sports Directors' Cups as the most successful athletic department in the country. North Carolina won the first-ever Directors' Cup in 1993-94 and Stanford has won the award every year since then. Stanford is poised to make it 17 in a row, holding a significant lead over Ohio State, Penn State, North Carolina and Michigan in the current Director's Cup standings. 

The Cardinal's national championships have come in a variety sports. Its 61 men's titles have been in baseball (2), basketball (1), cross country (4), golf (8), gymnastics (5), swimming (8), tennis (17), outdoor track (4), volleyball (2) and water polo (10). Stanford has also captured national championships in the following women's sports: basketball (2), cross country (5), rowing (1), swimming (8), tennis (16), volleyball (6) and water polo (1).

In the Conference's celebration of 25 years of women's athletics, the Pac-10 has a proud tradition of women's excellence. UCLA's 106 men's and women's titles leads all institutions, the Cardinal, however, hold the distinction of having won the most women's crowns of any institution in the nation. The Bruins are just behind with 35. Half of the teams ranked in the top-10 in all-time NCAA women's titles are Pac-10 teams, with USC ranking eighth (14), and Arizona and Arizona State are tied for ninth with 11 titles. Pac-10 teams have claimed 127 all-time women's championships, the next closest being the SEC's 75.

The next athletic program with 100 titles in its sights is also a Pac-10 member, as the USC Trojans currently own 92 all-time men's and women's national titles. The Conference is the leader in NCAA titles among all conferences, with its 10 members having won 395 all-time, outdistancing the next-closest league by more than 100.

Now on Pac-12 Network
2:00 PM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder