Nine Pac-10 Men's Golf Teams Headed To NCAA Regional Action

WALNUT CREEK, Calif.-- The Pac-10 Conference will be well represented in the 2011 NCAA Men's Golf Championships as nine teams will compete in one of six 54-hole regional tournaments, which will be conducted May 19-21.

The UCLA Bruins are the No. 1 seed in the San Diego Region (The Farms Golf Club), where they will be joined by USC, the region's No. 3 seed. The Trojans won automatic selection into the field by capturing the Pac-10 title earlier this month.

Other Pac-10 teams in the field include ARIZONA STATE (No. 4 seed in the Colorado Region - Colorado National Golf Club), STANFORD (No. 4 seed in the Indiana Region - Wolf Run Golf Club), OREGON (No. 4 seed in the Florida Region - Golden Ocala Golf Club), and four teams in the Arizona Region (Omni Tucson National Resort) with CALIFORNIA (No. 4 seed), WASHINGTON (No. 6 seed), OREGON STATE (No. 8 seed) and ARIZONA (No. 11 seed).

The low five teams and the low individual not on those teams from each regional will advance to the finals. The finals will be conducted May 31-June 5, at Karsten Creek, Stillwater, Okla.

The Pac-10 Conference has claimed 14 NCAA team titles and produced 14 NCAA individual champions. Since 2003, the Pac-10 has netted three team champions (2004 - California; 2007 - Stanford; 2008 -  UCLA) and four individual champions (2003 - Alejandro Canizares, ASU; 2005 - James Lepp, WASH; 2007 - Jamie Lovemark, USC; 2008 - Kevin Chappell, UCLA).

Now on Pac-12 Network
9:45 AM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder