Seven Pac-10 Teams Advance To NCAA Women's Golf Championships

To the surprise of no one, the Pac-10 Conference had seven teams advance to the 2012 NCAA Women's Golf Championship May 18-21 at the Traditions Club in Bryan, Texas. The seven teams match the SEC for most in the field.


Arizona, Arizona State, California, Stanford, UCLA, USC and Washington advanced past the regional round to qualify for the finals. The top eight teams and two individuals not on a selected team advanced from each region.


UCLA and USC each finished first in their regional tournaments to advance. Fueled by a Stephanie Kono's first place finish at Warren Golf Course in South Bend, IN, the #2 Bruins won the Central Region by four shots over LSU. Stanford finished seventh. Kono rallied with a final round 4-under 68 to claim a share of the top spot with LSU's Megan McChrystal.


Top ranked USC led from start to finish to capture the West Regional in Auburn, WA by 10 strokes over second placed Tennessee. Lizette Salas (-3) and Sophia Popov (-1) both shot under-par to pace the Trojans.  Arizona finished fifth and host Washington placed seventh to advance.


With back-to-back even-par rounds on the final two days, Arizona State finished just five shots back of Alabama to place third in the East Region in Daytona Beach, FL. California also advanced behind a strong performance by Pia Halbig, who finished second with a 3-under 213.


The seven Pac-10 schools have a combined 144 NCAA Tournament appearances and 13 NCAA Championships, including two of the last three NCAA titles (ASU in 2009 and USC in 2008). Of the 24 teams in the final round, six have more than 20 appearances and five of them are Pac-10 schools - ASU (29), Stanford (26), Arizona (25), UCLA (24) and USC (24). ASU has the most appearances (29) and the most titles (7) in the field. The Pac-10 has also produced 13 individual champions.

Now on Pac-12 Network
8:00 PM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder