2011 Pac-10 Softball Conference Honors Announced

WALNUT CREEK, Calif.-- In a vote of the league's eight head coaches, STANFORD junior Ashley Hansen was named the Pac-10 Player of the Year and earned the batting champion title, CALIFORNIA sophomore Jolene Henderson was named the Pac-10 Pitcher of the Year, ARIZONA STATE freshman Dallas Escobedo was named the Pac-10 Freshman of the Year, WASHINGTON junior Jenn Salling was named the Pac-10 Defensive Player of the Year and ARIZONA STATE's Clint Myers was named the Pac-10 Coach of the Year, Commissioner Larry Scott announced today.

Hansen, a native of Chandler, Ariz., was named to the Pac-10 First Team All-Conference squad for the third time in her career. The Player of the Year honor is the first for the junior shortstop who is putting up career numbers for the Cardinal this season. She leads the conference in nearly every individual offensive statistic and was named the Pac-10 Batting Champion with a league-leading .506 batting average. She also leads in slugging percentage (.833), on base percentage (.568), hits (88), doubles (24) and total bases (145). As one of 10 finalists for the USA Softball Player of the Year award, Hansen's batting average is the highest in the nation and her average of .45 doubles per game is tops in the country. She is also ranks second in the toughest to strikeout category, as in 174 at bats she has only struck out four times. The junior already ranks among the top-10 in school history in career hits, doubles, triples, RBI and runs scored.

Henderson burst onto the scene as a sophomore after a stellar freshman campaign, as she was named to the All-Freshman team. She earns her first Pac-10 Pitcher of the Year honor as she has taken the ball in an incredible 277.1 innings this year and she leads the conference with a .81 ERA. The Elk Grove, Calif., native has fanned 276 batters this season and has a 34-7 record in 43 appearances. Her impressive performances granted her five Pac-10 Pitcher of the Week honors this season. Her .81 ERA ranks third nationally.


Escobedo, a Glendale, Ariz., native and highly touted recruit, she has had a standout freshman campaign, earning her the Pac-10 Freshman of the Year honor. She is 27-3 in 40 appearances this season and ranks second in the Conference with a 1.40 ERA. Escobedo has also amassed 248 strikeouts, second-best in the Conference. Her efforts earned her two Pac-10 Pitcher of the Week honors this season, including one in her first weekend of collegiate play. She also won USA Softball Player of the Week honors as she debuted with a 4-0 record, including two wins over ranked opponents at the Kajikawa Classic in Tempe, Ariz.

Washington senior shortstop Jenn Salling wins her first Pac-10 Defensive Player of the Year honor. The Port Coquitlam, B.C., native ranks in the top-10 with 102 assists on the season. She has 88 putouts so far in 2011 and boasts a .969 fielding percentage. Her athleticism from the shortstop position helped her turn six double plays.

Myers, in his sixth season at the helm for the Sun Devils earns his second career Pac-10 Coach of the Year honor after leading Arizona State to its second softball conference crown in school history. He coached the squad to an impressive 50-6 record overall and 17-4 in Conference. The squad finished the regular season as the top team in both the NFCA/USA Today and ESPN.com/USA Softball polls. They earned the No. 1 overall seed in the 2011 NCAA Tournament under the leadership of Myers.

First Team
Name Year Pos. School
Katelyn Boyd Jr. INF Arizona State
Brigette Del Ponte So. INF Arizona
Dallas Escobedo Fr. P Arizona State
Kellie Fox Fr. INF UCLA
Teagan Gerhart So. P Stanford
Ashley Hansen Jr. INF Stanford
Andrea Harrison Jr. OF/INF UCLA
Jolene Henderson So. P California
Brittany Lastrapes Sr. OF Arizona
Jessica Moore So. P Oregon
Kimi Pohlman Jr. OF Washington 
Jamia Reid Jr. OF California
Jenn Salling Sr. INF Washington 
Niki Williams Jr. UTIL Washington 
Second Team
Name Year Pos. School
Kaylyn Castillo Sr, C Arizona State
Stacie Chambers Sr. C Arizona
GiOnna DiSalvatore Sr. INF UCLA
Krista Donnenwirth Sr, INF Arizona State
Kenzie Fowler So. P Arizona 
Monique Fuiava Sr. UTIL Oregon 
Kaitlyn Inglesby Fr. P Washington 
Annie Lockwood Jr OF Arizona State
Sarah Hassman Jr OF Stanford 
Jenna Rich So. INF Stanford 
Lesley Rodgers Sr OF Arizona State 
Lauren Schutzler Sr. OF Arizona
Jace Williams Jr OF California 
Honorable Mention: Tina Andreana, OSU; Kristen Arriola, ARIZ; B.B. Bates, UCLA; Lea Cavestany, OSU; Courtney Ceo, ORE; Ashley Chinn, STAN; Erin Guzy, OSU; Talor Haro, ASU; Corey Hanewich, STAN; Donna Kerr, UCLA; Lini Koria, ARIZ; Sam Parlich, ASU; Samantha Pappas, ORE; Mackenzie Popescue, ASU; Elia Reid, CAL; Brittany Rumfelt, ORE;  Katie Schroeder,UCLA; Taylor Smith, WASH; Morgan Stuart, WASH; Mandy Urfer, ASU; Katilin Vitek, ORE

2011 Pac-10 All-Freshman Team
Name Pos. School
Shelby Babcock P Arizona 
Courtney Ceo INF Oregon
Dallas Escobedo P Arizona State
Kellie Fox INF UCLA 
Jessica Hall P UCLA
Corey Hanewich OF Stanford 
Victoria Hayward UTIL Washington 
Kaitlyn Inglesby P Washington 
Alix Johnson OF Arizona State
Danielle Miller DP Stanford 
Alexa Peterson C Oregon 
Mackenzie Popescue P Arizona State 
Alyssa Tiumalu C UCLA 
Britt Vonk INF California 
Honorable Mention: Hannah Bouska, OSU; Ashley Brawley, ARIZ; Kailee Cuico, ORE; Ashley Decker, CAL; Alex Levine, ARIZ; Michelle Prong, STAN; Talee Snow, UCLA
Now on Pac-12 Network
10:45 PM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
  • Football: The Pregame
    TOMORROW | 12:00pm PT

    Airing on:

    • Pac-12 Network
    • Pac-12 Arizona
    • Pac-12 Mountain
    • Pac-12 Oregon
    • Pac-12 Washington
    • Pac-12 Los Angeles
    • Pac-12 Bay Area
  • TOMORROW | 1:00pm PT

    Airing on:

    • Pac-12 Network
    • Pac-12 Bay Area
    • Pac-12 Oregon
  • Pac-12 Football Game Break
    TOMORROW | 4:30pm PT

    Airing on:

    • Pac-12 Network
    • Pac-12 Bay Area
    • Pac-12 Oregon
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder