Three Rowing Teams Selected for IRA National Championships

WALNUT CREEK, Calif. - CALIFORNIA, STANFORD and WASHINGTON all earned bids for the 2011 Intercollegiate Rowing Association National Championships, to take place June 2-4 on the Cooper River in Cherry Hill, N.J.

Defending IRA National Champion and second-ranked California, runner-up at the Pac-10 Championships, will send five boats to this year's IRAs. The Bears, who have won 16 IRA Championships, defeated Washington by 0.263 seconds in last year's varsity eight race to claim the title. At the Pac-10 Championships, Cal won the opening race of the day, the freshman eight, and finished second to Washington the remaining three races.

Stanford finished fourth in the varsity four and sixth in the freshman eight at the 2010 IRA Championships. The Cardinal placed third in the varsity eight at the 2009 regatta. Stanford finished third overall at the Pac-10 Championships last weekend, earning bronze medals in the varsity and second varsity eight races.

Top-ranked Washington has captured 13 IRA Championships, with the last being in 2009. The program has won the last four Ten Eyck trophies, which is awarded to the team with the most points at the regatta. All five Husky crews earned medals, including gold in the varsity four, second varsity eight and freshman eight. Washington won the varsity eight, second varsity eight and varsity four at the 2011 Pac-10 Championships to claim its second-straight conference title.

Now on Pac-12 Network
1:30 PM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder