2011 Pac-10 Women's Tennis All-Conference Teams Announced

WALNUT CREEK, Calif. - In a vote by the league's coaches, USC senior Maria Sanchez has been named the Pac-10 Women's Tennis Singles Player of the Year. CALIFORNIA's duo of Mari Andersson/Jana Juricova have been named the Doubles Team of the Year. STANFORD's Kristie Ahn has been tabbed Freshman of the Year, while STANFORD's Lele Forood earns the Coach of the Year distinction.

Sanchez earns Player of the Year honors after a stellar senior season to cap and excellent career as a Trojan. She becomes just the third Trojan to win the honor, joining Nicole Leimbach (2005) and Lindsay Nelson (2007). Sanchez has sat atop the ITA national rankings for most of the season and as of May 2, she ranks second with a 64.47 average. She was the first Trojan to be ranked No. 1 nationally since Amanda Fink was ranked there in 2006. The Modesto, Calif., native has 36 singles wins on the season with a 36-5 record and is seeded No. 2 in the NCAA Championships and is the reigning National Indoor Singles Champion. The senior finished as runner-up at the 2011 Pac-10 Championships.

Andersson and Juricova become just the second Pac-10 Doubles Team of the Year to hail from Berkeley, as Susie Babos/Zsuzsanna Fodor won the honor in 2007. The duo of Andersson/Juricova rank No. 1 nationally with a 57.89 average. The team won the 2011 Pac-10 Doubles Title in Ojai, Calif., as they defeated the No. 4-ranked team of USC's Sanchez/Christian. The squad boasts a 40-6 record and is a definite threat to win the NCAA doubles title, after they won in 2009. California won the doubles point 15 times this season and went undefeated in all of those dual matches.

Ahn, a native of Upper Saddle River, N.J., won the 2011 Pac-10 Singles Title in Ojai, Calif., defeating the No. 2-ranked Sanchez of USC in their first ever meeting. The win gave Stanford its first singles title since Gabriela Lastra won the title in 2002. She finished off the regular season with a 19 match win streak and an impressive 31-3 record. Ahn has also performed well on the doubles front, with fellow freshman Nicole Gibbs. Ahn becomes the fourth Cardinal player to win the honor and joins the likes of standouts Amber Liu (2003), Hilary Barte (2008) and Mallory Burdette (2010).

Stanford's Forood earns Coach of the Year honors for the fifth time in her career and the second-straight season after leading the Cardinal to a Pac-10 title with a perfect 8-0 record in Conference play and a 23-0 record overall. A San Francisco, Calif., native, who grew up in Mill Wallry, N.Y., Forood has solidified Stanford as one of the nation's premiere women's tennis programs. In 11 seasons at the helm of the Cardinal, she has compiled a record of 259-16. Under the watch of Forood, Stanford has won 10 of the last 11 Pac-10 titles. Forood's squad is the defending NCAA champions and they will look to defend the title at home this season.

2011 Pac-10 Women's Tennis All-Conference

First Team

Kristie Ahn, Fr., STAN

Hilary Barte, Sr., STAN

Denise Dy, Jr., WASH

Jana Juricova,  Jr., CAL

Kelcy McKenna, Sr., ASU

Maria Sanchez, Sr., USC

Second Team

Mari Andersson, Sr., CAL

Mallory Burdette, So., STAN

Jacqueline Cako, Fr., ASU

Venise Chan, Sr., WASH

Nicole Gibbs, Fr., STAN

Danielle Lao, So., USC

Honorable Mention

Noelle Hickey, Sr., UCLA

Andrea Remynse, Sr., UCLA

Pavlina Smatova, So., ORE

Pac-10 Singles Player of the Year

Maria Sanchez, Sr., USC

Pac-10 Doubles Team of the Year

Mari Andersson, Sr./Jana Juricova, Jr., CAL

Pac-10 Freshman of the Year

Kristie Ahn, STAN

Pac-10 Coach of the Year

Lele Forood, STAN

Now on Pac-12 Network
6:00 PM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder