USC's Men's Tennis Title Is 399 For Pac-10

- Photos of this year's NCAA Champions

With USC successfully defending its NCAA men's tennis title at Stanford, Pac-10 Conference teams have now claimed 399 NCAA Championships, leaving it one shy of an unprecedented 400.


"The Pac-10 really got us ready for this," USC junior and top-ranked singles player Steve Johnson said. "There are no easy matches. The Pac-10 has 4-5 great teams - UCLA, Stanford, Cal, you name them. Every weekend we were in for a battle and that really set us up for this."


USC came into the NCAA men's tennis championships ranked #2 in the country, but rallied to upset #1 ranked Virginia, 4-3, to earn its third straight title and 19th men's tennis crown. USC has now won 93 NCAA championships overall.


"This is how tough our conference is - we were undefeated this year and it was the first time since 1987 that a Pac-10 team has gone undefeated in conference," USC head coach Peter Smith said. "We've won seven NCAA trophies since that time, so going undefeated in the Pac-10 is harder than winning an NCAA title."


USC's men's tennis team joins USC's men's water polo, Stanford's men's gymnastics, California's men's and women's swimming and diving, Oregon's women's indoor track, Stanford's women's water polo and UCLA's women's golf as the eight Pac-10 teams to claim national championships this academic year.


The 399 Pac-10 championships, more than any other conference, consist of 271 men's titles and 128 women's championships and all 10 Pac-10 institutions have won multiple national championships.


The Conference will look to add more titles this year as it will have teams competing in six additional championships this spring - men's and women's track and field, women's rowing, men's golf, softball and baseball.


The NCAA Women's Rowing Championship takes place this weekend at Lake Natoma in Sacramento, CA and will feature five Pac-10 teams in the field of 16. All five Pac-10 teams are ranked in the top-11, including #2 Cal, #4 Stanford, #5 USC, #9 Washington and #11 Washington State.


Pac-10 NCAA Championships by Institution

UCLA - 107 (71 men's, 36 women's)

Stanford - 101 (61 men's, 40 women's)

USC - 93 (79 men's, 14 women's)

California - 30 (25 men's, 5 women's)

ASU - 22 (11 men's, 11 women's)

Oregon - 18 (13 men's, 5 women's)

Arizona - 17 (6 men's, 11 women's)

Washington - 6 (6 women's)

OSU - 3 (3 men's)

WSU - 2 (2 men's)

Now on Pac-12 Network
7:00 AM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder