Six Pac-10 Teams Selected to 2011 NCAA Baseball Championship

WALNUT CREEK, Calif. - Six Pac-10 teams were named to the field of 64 for the 2011 NCAA Division I Baseball Championship, announced today by the NCAA Division I Baseball Committee. Heading to the postseason are ARIZONA, ARIZONA STATE, CALIFORNIA, OREGON STATE, STANFORD and UCLA. Arizona State, Oregon State and UCLA are among the 16 sites selected to host regionals.

The Wildcats will face Big East Tournament Champion Seton Hall in their opening game on June 3 in the College Station Regional. Arizona is the No. 2 seed in the regional. The regional's host and No. 1 seed, Texas A&M, will meet Wright State in the first round.

Arizona State will host Mountain West Tournament Champion New Mexico in its tournament opener at Winkles Field-Packard Stadium at Brock Ballpark. Arkansas and Charlotte will also play in the Tempe Regional. The Sun Devils are hosting a regional for the 21st time.

California will travel to the Houston Regional as the No. 3 seed and face Baylor. No. 8 national seed and host Rice will face Alcorn State in the other half of the regional.

Oregon State, the No. 1 seed in the Corvallis Regional, will host Arkansas-Little Rock in its first-round game. The Trojans are playing in their first-ever NCAA Regional. Other teams traveling to Corvallis are Georgia and Creighton. The Beavers will host their third regional since 2005 and fourth in program history.

Stanford will make the trip south as the No. 2 seed in the Fullerton Regional and face Kansas State. Cal State Fullerton is the regional's host and top seed. The Titans welcome Illinois in the first round.

UCLA is the No. 1 seed in the Los Angeles Regional and will host San Francisco at Jackie Robinson Stadium. The Bruins, which won its first outright Pac-10 title since 1986 on Sunday, are hosting a regional for the third time. UC Irvine and Fresno State will also play in Los Angeles.

The Atlantic Coast Conference and Southeastern Conference lead all conferences with seven teams each in the championship field. The Pac-10 and Big 12 Conference each have six teams in the postseason.

Each of the 16 regionals features four teams playing a double-elimination format. The regionals are scheduled to be conducted from Friday, June 3 to Monday, June 6 (if necessary). Selection of the eight super regional hosts will be announced on on Monday, June 6 at approximately 11 a.m. ET.

The 65th Men's College World Series begins play Saturday, June 18, at the new TD Ameritrade Park Omaha in Omaha, Neb.

The Pac-10 leads all conferences with 26 NCAA Championships in baseball.

Now on Pac-12 Network
5:00 PM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder