Pac-10 Baseball All-Conference Honors

WALNUT CREEK, Calif. - In a vote by the conference coaches, CALIFORNIA sophomore second baseman Tony Renda has been named the 2011 Pac-10 Player of the Year, while UCLA junior right-handed pitcher Trevor Bauer has earned Pitcher of the Year honors. ARIZONA STATE sophomore shortstop Deven Marrero has been selected the Defensive Player of the Year, STANFORD freshman first baseman Brian Ragira has been named Freshman of the Year and OREGON STATE'S Pat Casey has garnered Coach of the Year honors, as Commissioner Larry Scott announced the baseball all-conference selections today.

Pac-10 Player of the Year -- Tony Renda, CALIFORNIA

The Hillsborough, Calif., native becomes the only the third Cal player all-time to be named Pac-10 Player of the Year. Renda joins Troy Penix and Jon Zuber, who shared the award for the North Division in 1992. A two-time All-Pac-10 honoree, Renda has started all 51 of the Golden Bears' games this season. The sophomore second baseman is currently hitting .330, which ranks eighth among conference players. He leads Cal in hits (73) and RBI (38) and is also tied for second in runs (31) and doubles (13). His 73 hits are tied for fourth in the Pac-10. Renda has a .968 fielding percentage with 96 putouts and 148 assists this season.

Pac-10 Pitcher of the Year -- Trevor Bauer, UCLA

Bauer becomes only the second Bruin to be named Pac-10 Pitcher of the Year after Pete Janicki received the South Division's honor in 1992. The Valencia, Calif., native leads the nation with 189 strikeouts this season and currently ranks second on the Pac-10's single-season strikeouts list, trailing only former USC pitcher Mark Prior (202). In addition to strikeouts, Bauer leads the conference in several categories, including ERA (1.27), opposing batting average (.152), innings pitched (127.2) and wins (12). This season, Bauer captured six Pac-10 Pitcher of the Week honors, setting a conference record.

Pac-10 Defensive Player of the Year -- Deven Marrero, ARIZONA STATE

Marrero is the second Sun Devil to earn Pac-10 Defensive Player of the Year, joining Eric Sogard, who won the honor in 2007. The Davie, Fla., native started 48 games at shortstop this season, registering a .934 fielding percentage with 61 putouts. His 138 assists rank second on the squad. In addition, Marrero is hitting .320 with 62 hits, 27 runs and 17 RBI for Arizona State.

Pac-10 Freshman of the Year -- Brian Ragira, STANFORD

Ragira is the second-straight Cardinal player to win Pac-10 Freshman of the Year after shortstop Kenny Diekroeger captured the award last season. The first baseman from Arlington, Texas, ranks second on the team with a .321 batting average and leads Stanford with 41 RBI, which ranks eighth in the Pac-10. Ragira is also tied for third among conference players with five triples this spring. He also carries a .992 fielding percentage and 477 putouts.

Pac-10 Coach of the Year -- Pat Casey, OREGON STATE

Casey has been voted Pac-10 Coach of the Year for the fourth time after winning back-to-back honors in 2005 and 2006 and sharing the North Division award in 1997. Picked to finish eighth in the conference, Casey led the Beavers to a second-place finish and a ranking as high as No. 2 by Baseball America after beginning the season unranked. Oregon State will make its 12th all-time appearance in the postseason and the sixth in the last seven years. Casey has guided the club to each of its last six appearances and is 30-10 including two NCAA Championships (2006, 2007). His 30 wins have comprised better than 85 percent of the Beavers' all-time postseason victories.

All-Conference Team
Name Position Year School
Beau Amaral OF Jr. UCLA
Tyler Anderson (2) LHP Jr. Oregon
Taylor Ard 1B R-So. Washington State
Austin Barnes C Jr. Arizona State
Trevor Bauer (3) RHP Jr. UCLA
Tony Bryant RHP So. Oregon State
Joey DeMichele DH So. Arizona State
Cole Frenzel 1B So. Arizona
Sam Gaviglio RHP Jr. Oregon State
Kurt Heyer (2) RHP So. Arizona
Erik Johnson RHP Jr. California
Kavin Keyes DH Fr. Oregon State
Chadd Krist (2) C Jr. California
Deven Marrero SS So. Arizona State
Alex Mejia SS So. Arizona
Ricky Oropesa (2) 1B Jr. USC
Stephen Piscotty 3B So. Stanford
Adam Plutko RHP Fr. UCLA
Danny Pulfer 2B Jr. Oregon
Robert Refsnyder  OF So. Arizona
Tony Renda (2) 2B So. California
Joey Rickard OF So. Arizona
Johnny Ruetigger OF Jr. Arizona State
Kyle Simon RHP Jr. Arizona
Riccio Torrez (2) 3B Jr. Arizona State
(2) - Two-time All-Conference selection      
(3) - Three-time All-Conference selection      

Honorable Mention: Mitchell Beacom (UCLA, Jr., LHP); Carter Bell (OSU, Jr., 3B); Alex Blackford (ASU, So., RHP); Matt Boyd (OSU, So., LHP); Vince Bruno (CAL, So., OF); Matt Chaffee (ARIZ, Jr., LHP); Kramer Champlin (ASU, Jr., RHP); Gerrit Cole (UCLA, Jr., RHP); Joe De Pinto (USC, Sr., 2B); Kenny Diekroeger (STAN, So., SS); Ryan Dunn (OSU, Jr., SS); Matt Flemer (CAL, Jr., RHP); Tyler Gaffney (STAN, So., OF); Derek Jones (WSU, Jr., OF); Justin Jones (CAL, So., LHP); Cody Keefer (UCLA, So., OF); Jacob Lamb (WASH, So., 3B); Mitchell Lambson (ASU, Jr., LHP); Zack MacPhee (ASU, Jr., 2B); Joe Meggs (WASH, So., OF); Kellen Moen (ORE, Sr., RHP); Matt Newman (ASU, Sr., OF); Bryce Ortega (ARIZ, Sr., 2B); Josh Osich (OSU, Jr., LHP); Brian Ragira (STAN, Fr., 1B); Chris Reed (STAN, Jr., LHP); Brady Rodgers (ASU, So., RHP); Steve Rodriguez (UCLA, Jr., C); Kevin Roundtree (USC, Jr., C); Alex Sherrod (USC, Jr., OF); Tyler Smith (OSU, So., 2B); Jake Stewart (STAN, So., OF); Andrew Susac (OSU, So., C); Nick Vander Tuig (UCLA, Fr., RHP); Ryan Wiggins (WASH, Fr., DH); Trevor Williams (ASU, Fr., RHP); Austin Wilson (STAN, Fr., OF); Zach Wilson (ASU, Jr., 1B).

Now on Pac-12 Network
9:00 AM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder