Pac-10 Looks For 15th NCAA Men's Golf Championship

WALNUT CREEK, Calif.--Five Pac-10 teams open play at the 2011 NCAA Men's Golf Championships, May 31-June 5, at Karsten Creek Golf Club in Stillwater, Okla. (hosted by Oklahoma State). Thirty teams and six individuals will compete in the 114th NCAA Championships.

THE COURSE: Karsten Creek Golf Club, Stillwater, Okla. (par 72 - 7,416)


THE FORMAT: The 2011 NCAA Championships will see the team champion determined via match play for the third straight year, as 2009 was the first time the winner wasn't awarded by total strokes since 1965. The top eight teams after 54 holes of stroke play will advance to match play, with the quarterfinals being held June 3, the semifinals on June 4 and the championship match set for June 5. During the match-play portion, each match will be worth one point with all five players participating. The first team to win three points within the team match will win the match. The NCAA individual champion will be crowned after the first three-rounds of stroke play competition (May 31-June 2).

SCORING: Live scoring of the Championships will be available at

THE PAC-10: There are five Pac-10 teams in the 30-team field, second-most of any conference (SEC with 6). The Big Ten also has five. The past two years the Pac-10 has had the most teams in the field with 13. Nine of the 10 member institutions have competed in the NCAA Championships over the last two years. The Pac-10 has won 14 NCAA titles, including three in the last seven years - California (2004), Stanford (2007), and UCLA (2008). The Pac-10 teams in the field:


Qualifying with a fifth-place finish at the Arizona Regional, the Wildcats will be making their 27th NCAA Championships appearance, and 23rd in the last 25 seasons under coach Rick LaRose. Arizona captured the national championship in 1992, and has six top-five finishes. Senior Tarquin MacManus, a second team All-Pac-10 selection, has been the top-ranked Wildcat this season, coming in at No. 132 in Golfweek. He posts a 72.61 scoring average.


The Sun Devils are making their 49th NCAA Championships appearance, which ranks behind only Oklahoma State (65), Texas (57) and USC (52). Arizona State has a pair of national titles to its credit, capturing the 1990 title, then adding the 1996 team title under coach Randy Lein. Senior Scott Pinckney has paced the Sun Devils with a 71.60 scoring average and is ranked No. 39 by Golfweek.


California advances by finishing third at the Arizona Regional. Coach Steve Desimone is taking the Golden Bears to their seventh appearance at the NCAA Championship and second in a row. The Bears returned to the NCAA's in 2010 and finished 23rd in their first trip to the event since winning their lone national title in 2004. Senior Stephen Hale leads the team with a 71.6 stroke average, and is the team's highest nationally-ranked player, checking in a No. 61 according to Golfweek.


The No. 2 ranked Bruins captured the San Diego Regional to advance to their ninth consecutive NCAA Championship. UCLA as captured a pair of national championships - 1988 and 2008. Freshman Patrick Cantlay, the Pac-10's Golfer of the Year, took home medalist honors at the Regional. It was his fourth win of the year. Cantlay is the top-ranked player, according to Golfweek, and posts a 70.4 scoring average. Meanwhile, the Bruins as a team are ranked No. 4.


The Trojans advance to the National Championships by virtue of their second-place finish at the San Diego Regional. USC captured the 2011 Pac-10 title, and were led by Pac-10 medalist Martin Trainer. The sophomore is currently ranked No. 80 by Golfweek and leads the team with a 72.21 stroke average. USC is making its 52nd trip to the NCAA Championships, trailing only Oklahoma State (65) and Texas (57). It's the fifth trip in a row for the Trojans under fifth-year head coach Chris Zambri.

NCAA Team Champions from the Pac-10

1938 - Stanford

1939 - Stanford

1941 - Stanford

1942 - Stanford

1946 - Stanford

1953 - Stanford

1988 - UCLA

1990 - Arizona State

1992 - Arizona

1994 - Stanford

1996 - Arizona State

2004 - California

2007 - Stanford

2008 - UCLA

NCAA Individual Champions from the Pac-10

1942 - Frank Tatum, Jr. Stanford

1976 - Scott Simpson, USC

1977 - Scott Simpson, USC

1981 - Ron Commans, USC

1983 - Jim Carter, Arizona State

1989 - Phil Mickelson, Arizona State

1990 - Phil Mickelson, Arizona State

1991 - Phil Mickelson, Arizona State

1996 - Tiger Woods, Stanford

2003 - Alejandro Canizares, Arizona State

2005 - James Lepp, Washington

2007 - Jamie Lovemark, USC

2008 - Kevin Chappell, UCLA

Now on Pac-12 Network
4:00 AM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder