This Week In Pac-10 Baseball

CALIFORNIA fell to top-seeded Virginia, 4-1, in its first game of the College World Series. The Golden Bears now face Texas A&M on Tuesday, June 21 at 1 p.m. CT.

Cal is making its sixth appearance in the College World Series. Its 37 wins this season mark the most victories since the 1991 squad went 37-27 and advanced to the final of the Wichita State Regional.

Head coach Dave Esquer has been named National Coach of the Year by the National College Baseball Writers Association (NCBWA). Esquer received the honor Tuesday morning at TD Ameritrade Park.

The Pac-10 has captured 26 national championships, the most of any conference. The Bears won the inaugural CWS in 1947 and then claimed their second title in 1957 before finishing third in 1980 and tying for seventh in 1988 and 1992.

Sixty-nine Pac-10 players were selected in the 2011 Major League Baseball (MLB) First-Year Player Draft held June 6-8.

ARIZONA STATE led the way with 11 players taken in the draft while UCLA had nine selected. ARIZONA, OREGON and OREGON STATE each had eight players drafted. CALIFORNIA and USC had seven chosen, while STANFORD had six and WASHINGTON STATE had five.

The Pac-10 had four players - all pitchers - drafted in the first round, including the No. 1 overall pick by the Pittsburgh Pirates, UCLA JR RHP Gerrit Cole. UCLA JR RHP Trevor Bauer (No. 3), STANFORD JR LHP Chris Reed (No. 16) and OREGON JR LHP Tyler Anderson (No. 20) also went in the first round.

Trevor Bauer was named Baseball America's College Player of the Year and the NCBWA District IX Player of the Year. Bauer was named a finalist for the Dick Howser Trophy last week and is also a finalist for the Golden Spikes Award.

Bauer and Oregon State JR RHP Sam Gaviglio were named NCBWA All-Americans.

Bauer, Gaviglio and Arizona State SO DH Joey DeMichele earned All-America honors from Baseball America.

Seven Pac-10 players earned Louisville Slugger Freshman All-America honors from Collegiate Baseball: Arizona OF Johnny Field, Arizona State RHP Trevor Williams, Cal LHP Kyle Porter, Oregon State DH Kavin Keyes, Stanford 1B Brian Ragira, UCLA RHP Adam Plutko and UCLA RHP Zack Weiss.

Plutko and Porter were also named to the NCBWA Freshman All-America Second Team.



TD Ameritrade Park Omaha - Omaha, Neb.

Bracket Two
Sunday, June 19
Game 3 - CALIFORNIA 1, No. 1 Virginia 4
Game 4 - Texas A&M 4, No. 4 South Carolina 5

Tuesday, June 21
Game 7 - California vs. Texas A&M, 1 p.m. (ESPNHD)
Game 8 - Virginia vs. South Carolina, 6 p.m.

Thursday, June 23
Game 10 - Winner Game 7 vs. Loser Game 8, 6 p.m. (ESPN2HD)

Friday, June 24
Game 12 - Winner Game 8 vs. Winner Game 10, 6 p.m. (ESPNHD)

Saturday, June 25
Game 14 - Necessary if winner of Game 10 also wins Game 12, 6 p.m. (ESPN2HD)
* If only game played on Saturday, game will start at 6 p.m.

Championship Finals
(Bracket One winner vs. Bracket Two winner; Best of three)
Game 1 - Monday, June 27, 7 p.m. (ESPNHD)
Game 2 - Tuesday, June 28, 7 p.m. (ESPNHD)
Game 3 (if necessary) - Wednesday, June 29, 7 p.m. (ESPNHD)

Complete CWS bracket included in this release.
All times Central and subject to change.

Now on Pac-12 Network
4:00 AM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder