Pac-10 Leads With Nine NCAA Team Titles

WALNUT CREEK, Calif. - The Pac-10 lived up to its well-deserved billing of "Conference of Champions®" by capturing nine NCAA titles during the 2010-11 academic year, nearly double the number of titles of the next-closest conference. The Big Ten, Big 12 and SEC were tied for the second most, with its respective teams winning five championships each. It marks the 11th time in the last 12 years that the Pac-10 has led or tied all conferences in NCAA championships won. In addition to the nine national titles, Pac-10 teams posted NCAA runner-up finishes 10 times.

Conference Men/Combined Women Total
Pac-10 4 5 9
Big Ten 2 3 5
Southeastern 3 2 5
Other 3 2 5
Big East 2 2 4
Atlantic Coast 1 1 2

The Pac-10 men's and women's programs shared the wealth in 2010-11 as the Conference claimed five NCAA women's titles and four men's crowns. The depth of the Conference was shown by the fact six different league schools claimed NCAA titles. Only seven institutions claimed multiple NCAA titles this year, with three of them Pac-10 schools. CALIFORNIA, STANFORD and USC each won two NCAA championships to join Texas A&M, Penn State, Notre Dame and Florida as multiple title winners this academic year.

Cal swept the men's and women's swimming titles, the Cardinal won the men's gymnastics and women's water polo crowns, and USC captured national championships in men's water polo and men's tennis. Other NCAA crowns came from ARIZONA STATE in softball, OREGON in women's indoor track & field and UCLA in women's golf.

In addition, Stanford has clinched its unprecedented 17th-consecutive Learfield Sports Directors' Cup, an award presented annually to the top intercollegiate athletic program in the country. This year, the Cardinal became only the second program in NCAA history to win 100 national championships. Only fellow Pac-10 member, UCLA, has more NCAA Championships to its credit.

Highlights from the 2010-11 campaign include three Pac-10 teams placing in the top four in both the men's and women's swimming championships, and men's gymnastics. Also, an all-Pac-10 finals matchup was featured in men's and women's water polo.

The Pac-10 championship tradition includes 400 all-time team titles won by league institutions. The Pac-10 is the first in history to reach the milestone and is, by far, the most of any conference in the country with over 150 more championships than the next closest league (Big Ten).

The moniker "Conference of Champions" has been earned by the number of titles, but also the depth of success. Pac-10 teams have won championships in 26 of the 37 Division I sports the NCAA sponsors and has reached double digit titles in 16 of those sports.

Now on Pac-12 Network
5:00 PM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder