USTFCCCA Scholar Athletes Of The Year

WALNUT CREEK, Calif.—The U.S. Track & Field and Cross Country Coaches Association recently named STANFORD's Amaechi Morton the Outdoor Track Scholar Athlete of the Year. The organization also selected WASHINGTON's Scott Roth and ARIZONA's Brigetta Barrett as Indoor Field Men's and Women's Scholar-Athlete of the Year, respectively, while OREGON's Jordan Hasay was awarded the Indoor Track Scholar Athlete of the Year. Additionally, 42 men and 77 women earned a spot on the 2011 All-Academic Track & Field team across 12 of the league's schools.

Indoor Track Scholar Athlete of the Year - Jordan Hasay, Oregon
Hasay, a sophomore from Arroyo Grande, Calif., was the NCAA indoor mile and 3000-meter champion and holds a 3.96 cumulative GPA in human physiology at Oregon. Hasay, also the USTFCCCA Indoor National Track Athlete of the Year for 2011, helped led the Ducks to a second-straight NCAA team indoor title in March.

Indoor Field Scholar Athlete of the Year - Brigetta Barrett, Arizona
Barrett, a sophomore from Duncanville, Texas, swept NCAA high jumping crowns in 2011. A theater arts major, Barrett holds a cumulative GPA of 3.61 at Arizona.

Indoor Field Scholar Athlete of the Year - Scott Roth, Washington
Roth, a senior from Granite Bay, Calif., swept NCAA pole vault titles in 2011. At the indoor national championships, Roth cleared 18-½ (5.50m) for the victory. Roth tallied a 3.35 cumulative GPA as a biology student at Washington.

Outdoor Track Scholar Athlete of the Year - Amaechi Morton, Stanford
Morton, a junior from Atlanta, Ga., was the nation's runner-up in the 400-meter hurdles at the NCAA outdoor championships. Morton has a 3.30 cumulative GPA through the 2011 spring term and is majoring in science technology at Stanford.

STANFORD had the second-most men in the country named to the All-Academic squad, with Oregon's 13 honorees coming in second. The Conference's 78 all-academic team members on the women's side, across the 12 schools, ranked second-most among all the leagues.

The Cardinal, again, ranked high among the most student-athletes placed on the men's all-academic squad, with its 11 honorees ranking fourth overall. The Pac-12 had the second-most student-athletes listed in the nation.

Scholar Athlete of the Year Awards are determined from among those who earned All-Academic status and placed highest in individual events at the most recent NCAA Championships. Those who earn multiple individual championship titles rank higher in the tie-breaking process, and cumulative GPA is weighed as the final tiebreaker to establish a winner. Separate awards are given to track athletes and field athletes for the indoor and outdoor seasons, resulting in four categories.

To qualify for the USTFCCCA All-Academic Track and Field Team, the student-athlete must have compiled a cumulative grade point average of 3.25 and have met either of the following athletic standards: for the indoor season, a student-athlete must have finished the regular season ranked in the national top 96 in an individual event or ranked in the national top 48 (collective listing) in a relay event on the official NCAA POP list provided by; for the outdoor season, a student-athlete must have participated in any round of the NCAA Division I Championships (including preliminary rounds).

2011 USTFCCCA All-Academic Track & Field Team

Men: ARIZONA - James Coffin; Jordan Mara; Edgar Rivera-Morales. ARIZONA STATE - Ben Engelhardt; Nick Happe; John Kline; Daniel Lovell; Jamie Sandys. CALIFORNIA - Aaron Burney; Maxime Chevee; Patrick Kowalsky. OREGON - Justin Frick; Elijah Greer; Eric Hersey; David Klech; Brian Schaudt; Parker Stinson; Jordan Stray; Alex Wolff. STANFORD - Michael Atchoo; Andrew Berberick; Chris Derrick; Corey Dysick; Kevin Havel; Elliott Heath; Robert Hintz; Benjamin Johnson; Amaechi Morton; Tyler Stutzman; Miles Unterreiner. UCLA - Scott Crawford; David Klarer; Brian Law; Cory Primm; Greg Woepse. USC - Tyler Ruiz; Cooper Thompson. WASHINGTON - Scott Roth; Jeremy Taiwo; Ryan Vu. WASHINGTON STATE - Andrew Gonzales.

Women: ARIZONA - Brigetta Barrett; Maggie Callahan; Taylor Freeman; Liana Fuentes; Alyssa Hasslen; Elvin Kibet; Megan Meyer; Christina Rodgers. ARIZONA STATE - Sarah Geren; Samantha Henderson; Alycia Herring; Cj Navarro; Shaylah Simpson. CALIFORNIA - Chioma Amaechi; Kayla Dixon; Alison Greggor; Kristen Meister; Sofia Oberg; Linda Oseso; Theresa Raub; Chelsea Reilly; Kristin Rimbach; Allison Stokke. COLORADO - Katie Cumming; Brooke Regan; Laura Thweatt; Elizabeth Tremblay; Joi Windham. OREGON - Sarah Andrews; Laura Bobak; Bronwyn Crossman; Melissa Gergel; Jordan Hasay; Anne Kesselring; Alex Kosinski; Claire Michel; Megan Patrignelli; Laura Roesler; Jordan Roskelley; Brianne Theisen; Lanie Thompson. OREGON STATE - Jennifer Macias; Hayley Oveson. STANFORD - Kori Carter; Brittni Dixon-Smith; Madeline Duhon; Hannah Farley; Justine Fedronic; Adrienne Johnson; Eda Karesin; Kathy Kroeger; Whitney Liehr; Stephanie Marcy; Ellie McCardwell; Elizabeth Minoofar; Katie Nelms; Kate Niehaus; Joy O'Hare; Kellie Schueler; Jessica Tonn; Alyssa Wisdom. UCLA - Tori Anthony; Liz Goodrich; Allison Koressel; Ashlea McLaughlin; Ida Storm. UTAH - Alyssa Abbott; Angela Kaplar; Amanda Mergaert. WASHINGTON - Lindsay Flanagan; Justine Johnson; Phoebe Merritt; Kayla Stueckle. WASHINGTON STATE - Ashley Kenney; Holly Parent; Ruby Roberts; Marissa Tschida.

Now on Pac-12 Network
12:00 PM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder