Chandler Up for NCAA Woman of the Year

WALNUT CREEK, Calif. - Former University of Arizona swimmer Annie Chandler is among the top 30 candidates for the 2011 NCAA Woman of the Year. Now in its 21st year, the NCAA Woman of the Year Award honors graduating student-athletes who have distinguished themselves throughout their collegiate careers in the areas of academic achievement, athletics excellence, community service and leadership.

The top 30 honorees were nominated by conference and independent members and represent multiple sports. Chandler was named the 2011 Pac-10 Woman of the Year. Three finalists will be chosen from each division to form the nine finalists for the Woman of the Year award.

The national winner will be chosen by the NCAA Committee on Women's Athletics and will be announced in an Oct. 16 ceremony in Indianapolis.

A native of San Antonio, Texas, Chandler graduated cum laude with a bachelor of arts degree in journalism and a minor in art history. Named to the ESPN The Magazine/CoSIDA Academic All-America first team in 2010, Chandler was awarded the John C. Clum Award for her superior work on the Tombstone Epitaph, Arizona's biweekly newspaper where she served as the managing editor and was also published in Swimming World Magazine last year with a feature titled "Last Stand."

An 18-time All-American, Chandler swam on six NCAA Champion relay teams for the Wildcats. She helped Arizona to victories in the 200 medley relay in 2007, 2008 and 2010, and three-straight titles in the 400 medley relay from 2008-2010, contributing in the breaststroke and individual medley events. Her performances helped Arizona capture its first NCAA team championship in 2008.

Chandler has dedicated her time to helping numerous Tucson, Ariz., organizations during her time on campus. Among the numerous community service organizations with which she has volunteered, she visited patients at the United Medical Center Hospital, distributed Christmas gifts to the Casa de los Ninos children's home, read to elementary school children during "Love of Reading Week" and participated in Jim Click Run 'N' Roll, a fundraiser for the University of Arizona's adaptive athletics program for disabled athletes. The Wildcats' team captain during the 2009-10 year, Chandler also served as a peer athletic leader to help incoming freshmen student-athletes at Arizona.

Three Pac-10 student-athletes, all from Arizona, have won the NCAA Woman of the Year Award. Wildcat swimmers Lacey Nymeyer (2009) and Justine Schluntz (2010) won the last two, while former track and field athlete Tanya Jones received the honor in 1994.

Now on Pac-12 Network
3:30 PM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder