UCLA Picked To Win Pac-12 Title

Men's Basketball Media Poll
  Team Pts.
1 UCLA (14) 421
2 California (13) 405
3 Arizona (11) 404
4 Washington 355
5 Oregon 282
6 Stanford 255
7 USC 194
8 Oregon State 188
9 Arizona State 148
10 Colorado 119
  Washington State 119
12 Utah 74
First place votes in parentheses

LOS ANGELES--The UCLA Bruins are picked to finish first in the 2011-12 Pac-12 Conference men's basketball race, according to a poll of media members who cover Pac-12 men's basketball.

UCLA, led by junior All-Conference forward Reeves Nelson (13.9 ppg/9.1 rpg), tallied 14 first-place votes and narrowly edges out CALIFORNIA and ARIZONA. California, paced by senior All-Conference guard Jorge Gutierrez (14.6 ppg/4.5 apg) and senior forward Harper Kamp (14.2 ppg/5.6 rpg) picked up 13 first-place votes and is tabbed for second. Arizona, the reigning regular-season Conference champion, pulled in the remaining 11 first-place votes and are picked to finish third.

WASHINGTON, the defending Pac-12 Tournament champion, is slotted fourth, followed by OREGON in fifth and STANFORD sixth. The second half of the predicted race starts with USC edging out OREGON STATE for seventh with ARIZONA STATE picked ninth. COLORADO and WASHINGTON STATE are tied for tenth, followed by UTAH.

Media have correctly picked the Conference winner 12 times in 19 tries. The media were successful with their choice in five of the previous seven times UCLA was slated to capture the league crown.

The 2011-12 season gets underway for the Pac-12 on Monday, November 7, when Arizona hosts Valparaiso in a Coaches vs. Cancer matchup.

Previous Pac-12 Men's Basketball Polls
Year Predicted Winner Actual Finish Actual Winner Predicted Finish
2011-12 UCLA ?? ?? ??
2010-11 Washington 3rd Arizona 2nd
2009-10 California 1st California 1st
2008-09 UCLA 2nd Washington 5th
2007-08 UCLA 1st UCLA 1st
2006-07 UCLA 1st UCLA 1st
2005-06 Arizona 4th (tied) UCLA 3rd
2004-05 Arizona 1st Arizona 1st
2003-04 Arizona 3rd Stanford 2nd
2002-03 Arizona 1st Arizona 1st
2001-02 UCLA 6th Oregon 6th
2000-01 Arizona 2nd Stanford 2nd
1999-00 Arizona 1st (tied) Arizona/Stanford 1st/3rd
1998-99 Stanford 1st Stanford 1st
1997-98 Arizona 1st Arizona 1st
1996-97 UCLA 1st UCLA 1st
1995-96 UCLA 1st UCLA 1st
1994-95 UCLA 1st UCLA 1st
1993-94 California 2nd (tied) Arizona 3rd
1992-93 Arizona 1st Arizona 1st
*1991-92 Arizona 3rd UCLA 2nd
*1990-91 Arizona 1st Arizona 1st
*1989-90 Arizona 1st (tied) Arizona/Oregon State 1st/3rd
* - The Pac-12 polls were decided in a vote among league coaches (1990-92).
Now on Pac-12 Network
7:30 AM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder