Arizona's Lalang Wins NCAA Title

TERRE HAUTE, Ind. — ARIZONA's Lawi Lalang won the NCAA Men's Cross Country individual title on Monday in Terre Haute, Ind., crossing the finish line with a time of 28:44.1. He is the first Pac-12 runner to win the individual champions since 2008 and the first Wildcat to win the title since 1994.

Freshman Lawi Lalang (Eldoret, Kenya) was not beaten during the 2011 cross country season. Among his victories were the Pac-12 title, NCAA West Regional, the Roy Griak Invitational and the Wisconsin adidas Invitational. He is the 21st national champion from a Pac-12 team, the first since OREGON's Galen Rupp won the title in 2008. Lalang is the third Wildcat to win the race, joining Aaron Ramirez (1986) and Martin Keino (1994).

Lalang finished ahead of STANFORD's Chris Derrick (Naperville, Ill.), who finished with a time of 28:57.5. Other top-10 finishers from the Pac-12 were Oregon's Luke Puskedra (Salt Lake City, Utah), who was sixth overall (20:09.3), and COLORADO's Richard Medina (Grand Junction, Colo.), who was eighth (29:27.8).

Derrick led the Cardinal to a fifth-place finish in the team competition with 207 points. Pac-12 Champion COLORADO was third overall with 144 points, placing behind 2011 team champion Wisconsin (97) and Oklahoma State (139). Making its first appearance at the NCAA Championships since 2006, WASHINGTON STATE was 21st with 512 points.

The women's race was close, as predicted. The individual race was decided by .6 seconds, with OREGON's Jordan Hasay (Arroyo Grande, Calif.) being edged out by two-time champion Sheila Reid from Villanova. Reid crossed the fin-ish line with a time of 19:41.2 and Hassay was just behind with a time of 19:41.8. WASHINGTON's Katie Flood (Des Moines, Iowa) also placed in the top 10 in the field. The 2011 Pac-12 individual champion, she finished seventh with a time of 19:47.9.

The team competition was just as close. The Huskies were just eight points behind first-time champion Georgetown. The Hoyas collected 162 and the Huskies were second with 170 points. It was the closest margin of victory since 1998. The Ducks had 281 points for fifth place and STANFORD was 10th. Pac-12 Champion COLORADO was 11th with 335 points, CALIFORNIA had 433 points for 18th place, ARIZONA was 19th with 447 points and ARIZONA STATE was 31st with 752 points.

(Champion and Pac-12 Teams only)
1. Wisconsin - 97
3. Colorado- 144
5. Stanford - 207
21. Washington State - 512

Individual Results - Men
(Champion and Top 10 only)
1. Lawi Lalang, ARIZ, 28:44.1
2. Chris Derrick, STAN, 28:57.5
6. Luke Puskedra, ORE, 29:09.3
8. Richard Medina, COLO, 29:27.8

(Champion and Pac-12 Teams only)
1. Georgetown - 162
2. Washington - 170
5. Oregon - 281
10. Stanford - 332
11. Colorado - 335
18. California - 433
19. Arizona - 447
31. Arizona State - 752

Individual Results - Women
(Champion and Top 10 only)
1. Sheila Reid, Villanova, 19:41.2
2. Jordan Hasay, ORE, 19:41.6
7. Katie Flood, WASH, 19:47.9

Now on Pac-12 Network
7:15 AM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder