Bruins In Third Round Of NCAA Tournament

Download Complete Release


Pac-12 Champion and No. 13 seed UCLA defeated Delaware in the second round of the NCAA Tournament on Sunday, Nov. 20. JR F Chandler Hoffman's goal in the 84th minute proved to be the difference as the Bruins advanced in the postseason with a 1-0 win. JR MF/F Ryan Hollingshead and SO F Reed Williams both assisted on the goal. It was Hoffman's 16th of the year. He currently ranks 14th in the NCAA in goals per game (0.76) and points per game (1.71). The Bruins earned their sixth straight shutout and 10th of the year behind a stout defense.

UCLA will host Rutgers in the third round on Sunday, Nov. 27 at 5 p.m. PT. The Scarlet Knights defeated Colgate in the first round before upending No. 4 seed Boston College in penalty kicks on Sunday.

This is UCLA's 29th straight and 39th all-time appearance in the NCAA Tournament. The Bruins have won four national titles (1985, 1990, 1997 and 2002) and have advanced to the College Cup 12 times, the most recent trip coming in 2006. This year's College Cup will be held December 9 and 11 at Regions Park in Hoover, Ala.

The 2011 MLS Cup between the Los Angeles Galaxy and Houston Dynamo featured 12 players from Pac-12 schools. The LA Galaxy, who won 1-0, have 10 former Pac-12 players on the roster: Sean Alvarado (UCLA), Chad Barrett (UCLA), Todd Dunivant (Stanford), Frankie Hejduk (UCLA), Hector Jimenez (Cal), Bryan Jordan (Oregon State), Brian Perk (UCLA), Josh Saunders (Cal), Michael Stephens (UCLA) and Ryan Thomas (Stanford). Calen Carr (Cal) and Tally Hall (San Diego State) both played for the Dynamo.


Sunday, November 27 • NCAA Third Round
Rutgers at UCLA, 5 p.m. PT

Sunday, November 20 • NCAA Second Round
Delaware 0, UCLA 1

Now on Pac-12 Network
10:00 PM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder