NCAA Action Begins for Seven Pac-12 Teams

Download Complete Release | Pac-12 Honors Announced

Seven Pac-12 teams earned NCAA Tournament bids, tied for the second-most of any conference in the country. USC claimed the automatic berth after claiming the first-ever Pac-12 Championship, the Trojans' first league title since 2003 ... Three of the top-16 seeded teams are Pac-12 teams, including seventh-seeded USC, No. 9 seed UCLA and No. 11-seeded STANFORD ... Also participating in the postseason event are ARIZONA, CALIFORNIA, OREGON and WASHINGTON ... The Conference has sent at least six teams to the NCAA Tournament for 12-consecutive years ... There have been 26 upsets by Pac-12 teams so far this season ... The Bank of the West Pac-12 Volleyball Players of the Week are Cal's Tarah Murrey (Offensive), UW's Jenna Orlandini (Defensive) and the Huskies' Krista Vansant (Freshman) ... In the latest AVCA Coaches poll, USC is the No. 1 team in the nation, followed by No. 4 UCLA, No. 6 Cardinal, No. 10 Golden Bears, No. 11 Huskies and the No. 13 Ducks.

The Pac-12 has won five of the last 10 NCAA titles. Washington won it all in 2005, Stanford claimed titles in 2001 and 2004, while USC captured titles in 2002 and 2003. Over the last 10 years of the NCAA Tournament, Pac-12 teams have compiled an impressive 173-72 (.706) record. Toss out the 18 postseason matches in which Pac-12 teams faced each other and the league's NCAA Tournament record against non-conference foes stands at 155-54 (.742) since 2001 ... Overall, the Pac-12 has won 13 NCAA titles. The league's team's have posted an overall record against non-conference opponents in NCAA Tournament play of 358-189 (.654) ... Over the last 10 years, Pac-12 teams are 64-13 (.831) in the first round ... It is the 12th-consective year the Conference has had at least six teams earn NCAA Tournament bids.

The Wildcats make their 24th NCAA Tournament appearance and third-straight, the first time since the 2003-2005 campaigns Arizona is making back-to-back-to-back appearances in the postseason ... Since 2000, Arizona is 14-8 in the NCAA Tournament, including a national semifinal appearance in 2001.

The Golden Bears are making their 15th NCAA Tournament appearance and 10th-consecutive. Cal is 15-4 in the NCAA Tournament since 2007. The Golden Bears reached the NCAA Championship game last year for the first time in the history of the program ... Cal is one of only three teams in the country to have advanced at least as far as the NCAA regional championship match in each of the last four seasons (joining Texas and Penn State).

The Ducks make a return to the NCAA Tournament, missing out on the event last year after making four-straight appearances ... UO's 2011 appearance in the postseason is the ninth overall in the history of the program ... After not making an appearance in the tournament from 1990-2005, the Ducks are in the "Big Dance" in five of the last six years (including 2011) ... Oregon advanced to the regional semifinals twice (in 2007 and 2008).

The Cardinal are making its 31st NCAA Tournament appearance and are one of two teams (also Penn State) to have appeared in every NCAA Tournament ... The Cardinal have reached the national championship match in 2006, 2007 and 2008 ... Stanford has won six NCAA titles (1992, 1994, 1996, 1997, 2001, 2004) ... Stanford owns the Pac-12's best all-time NCAA Tournament record, 97-25 (.795), needing just three victories for postseason-victory No. 100 ... The Cardinal are the 11th overall seed in the NCAA Tournament.

The Bruins are making their 30th NCAA Tournament appearance and 15th straight. The only year UCLA did not make an appearance in the postseason was in 1996 ... The Bruins have won three NCAA titles (1984, 1990, 1991) and own the Conference's second-best all-time NCAA Tournament record (74-27, .733) ... The Bruins are the ninth overall seed in the NCAA Tournament.

The Women of Troy are making their 29th NCAA Tournament appearance and 21st in a row ... USC has won three NCAA titles (1981, 2002, 2003) ... The Women of Troy claimed the Conference's automatic bid into the tournament, winning the first-ever Pac-12 Championship, the team's first league crown since 2003 and third all-time ... The Trojans are the highest-seeded Conference team, earning the seventh overall seed in the NCAA Tournament.


The Huskies are making their 16th NCAA Tournament appearance and 10th straight ... Washington won its only NCAA title in 2005 ... Over the last nine NCAA Tournaments, UW has a record of 26-8 ... Aside from winning the national championship in 2005, UW advanced to the national semifinals in 2004 and 2006.

Thursday & Friday, Dec. 1 & 2

North Carolina (23-8) vs. CALIFORNIA (26-6) 5 p.m. PT
#15 Pepperdine (22-6) vs. Missouri State (22-8) 7:30 p.m. PT
Winners meet Friday 7 p.m. PT
Honolulu Regional, at Los Angeles

OREGON (21-9) vs. Colorado State (23-5) 5 p.m. HT
#10 Hawai'i (29-1) vs. Northern Colorado (22-8) 7 p.m. HT
Winners meet Friday 7 p.m. HT
Honolulu Regional, at Honolulu, Hawai'i

Friday & Saturday, Dec. 2 & 3
Michigan State (21-11) vs. ARIZONA (19-12) 4:30 p.m. CT
#1 Texas (22-4) vs. Texas State (27-7) 7 p.m. CT
Winners meet Saturday 7 p.m. CT
Lexington Regional, at Austin, Texas

Long Beach State (23-6) vs. San Diego (27-4) 5:30 p.m. PT
#9 UCLA (24-6) vs. UMES (24-6) 8 p.m. PT
Winners meet Saturday 7 p.m. PT
Lexington Regional, at Los Angeles

Western Michigan (24-8) vs. WASHINGTON (23-7) 4:30 p.m. CT
#13 Minnesota (18-11) vs. North Dakota State (25-8) 7:30 p.m. CT
Winners meet Saturday 7:30 p.m. CT
Minneapolis Regional, at Minneapolis, Minn.

Baylor (18-14) vs. Michigan (20-12) 4:30 p.m. PT
#11 STANFORD (21-7) vs. Sacred Heart (27-7) 7 p.m. PT
Winners meet Saturday 7 p.m. PT
Gainesville, Fla., at Stanford, Calif.

Tulsa (27-6) vs. Oklahoma (21-11) 5 p.m. PT
#7 USC (25-4) vs. Yale (18-6) 7 p.m. PT
Winners meet Saturday 7 p.m. PT
Honolulu Regional, at Los Angeles

Now on Pac-12 Network
4:00 PM PT

Airing on:

  • Pac-12 Network
Get Pac-12 Networks
Pac-12 Networks Channel Finder